Monday, November 29, 2010

Washington Social Diary

Dancing to the Right On band at Lab School of Washington's 26th annual gala at the National Building Museum.
Special to Washington Social Diary from Allison Putala

The holiday season always encourages social schedules to fill up with parties and galas to attend. The evening of Wednesday, November 17th proved to follow suite in Washington, when the Lab School of Washington held is 26th annual gala at the National Building Museum. Although it was one of the first night’s the air in the nation’s capitol turned chilly it didn’t stop almost 1,000 guests from coming out to support the school. For more than 40 years the Lab School has provided academics for students with learning disabilities and ADHD. It is the first school of its kind in the nation to use an innovative arts-infused curriculum. Washingtonians didn’t need a better reason to join in the gala festivities!  
Sen. Mark Warner (D-Va.) was the gala’s keynote speaker. He delivered passionate remarks about the school’s unique approach to education. Candy Crowley, Chief Political Correspondent for CNN and host of “State of the Union,” was the mistress of ceremonies. Lab School parents Hilary Rosen and Elizabeth Birch served as gala co-chairs.
Katherine Schantz (Head of Lab School), John Muir Laws (Gala Awardee), and Candy Crowley (CNN, Gala Mistress of Ceremonies).
US Senator Mark Warner (D-VA) (Gala Keynote Speaker).
As in years past the gala honored outstanding individuals with learning disabilities. The 2010 awardees included Consuelo Castillo Kickbusch, Army Veteran and Public Speaker; and John Muir Laws, Naturalist, Artist, Illustrator, and Educator.

They now join more than 100 past gala awardees, including Charles Schwab, Magic Johnson, Danny Glover, Tom Cruise, Billy Bob Thornton, Richard Avedon, and James Carville.
US Senator Max Baucus (D-MT). John Muir Laws (Gala Awardee).
Candy Crowley (CNN, Gala Mistress of Ceremonies).
Hilary Rosen (Gala co-chair) and son with Elizabeth Birch (Gala co-chair).
Katherine Schantz (Head of Lab School).
Consuelo Castillo Kickbusch (Gala Awardee).
The guests included: Senator Evan Bayh (D-IN), Senator Max Baucus (D-MT), Congressman Lamar Smith (R-TX), DC Mayor-elect Vincent Gray, Councilman Jack Evans, Michele Evans, Councilmember Mary Cheh, David and Susan Feeley, Doug Fagen, Dan Fata, Chip Fitzgerald, Luke Albee, Mark Allen, Carlos Angulo, Reena Arias, John Arundel, Christine Arundel, Shannon Fine, David and Sheila Feinberg, Jamie Aparicio, Scott Albright, Edward Gildenhorn, Michael Gildenhorn, Jeff Gillespie, Jude Gillespie, Lizzy Gillespie, Teresa Giral, Barry Glick,Sandy Bobb, Stanley Bobb, Elizabeth Birch, Hilary Rosen, John Joseph Best, Tyler Boyd, Jane Braun, Cathy Glick,Bill Goetzenberger, Gale Goetzenberger, Benjamin Goldberg, Bennett Goldberg, Harry Goldberg, Marisa Goldberg, Dennis Gray, Babara Grazzini, Martin Green, Patricia Green, Allison Greenberg, Connie Greene, Carol Groh, Hank Gromada, Ruth Gromada, Barry Gudelsky,Melinda Halbert, Matt Hamlin,Victoria Hammond, Andy Hise, Lee Hockstader, Paola Hoist, Jennifer Hooper, Catie Horst, Kevin Hovland, David Huffman, Carrie Hurd, Gray Hurd, Robert King, Judy Kirkpatrick, Jon Klaus, Pamela Knudson, Daniel and Carrie Kohns, Erin Love, Derek Low, Hillary Lowenberg, Stefan Lund, Joseph Lynch, Jodi Macklin, Annie Mair, Hal Malchow, Van McMurtry, Tia Medina, Diana Meltzer, Tammy Mendelson, Ali Meyer, Craig Miller, Lisa NOvins, Sean Oberle, Essie Offer, Edwin Oliver, Craig Omerod, Caroline Osborne, Jennifer Owen, Josh Raymond, Kacy Reams, Joe Reilly, Patrick Reardon, Anne Reiss, Cybele Renault, Chris Renner, Meredith Reynolds, Dan Rice, Dana Rice, Connie Richards, Susan Riggs, Moire Scherl, Susanne Scrima, Sally Seawright, Bernard Segerman, Neela Seldin, Ed Senn, Cheryl Shapiro, Lauren Shmalo, Clyde Shorey, Joan Shorey, Landon Smith, Danielle Sodani, Kira Sonberg, Benjamin Soto, Karen Spangler, Lauren Spitzer, Alex Stein, Bruce Stein, Richard Wiley, Scott Willett, Christina Wills, Amanda Wilmer, Candy Winkler, Deborah Wise, Ginger Wolf, Steve Wolfe, Susie Wolk,Scott worden, Angus and Sissy Yates, Angus Yates, Jr., Matthew Yeo, Gayle Yeomans, Dan Yergin, Paloma Zuleta.
Dancing with the Right On band.
Photographs by DENNIS KAN (Image Link Photography).