Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Jill Krementz covers the 81st Annual New York Film Critics Circle Awards

Christine Vachon, Harvey Weinstein, and Director Todd Haynes were among those honored by the New York Film Critics Circle for "Carol." The film was the evening's big winner garnering 4 awards: Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Director, and Best Picture.
81st Annual New York Film Critics Circle Awards
January 4, 2016
Tao Downtown

On Monday night, despite sub-freezing weather, everyone was happy to turn out for the 81st Annual New York Film Critics Circle Awards. The festivities were held at Tao Downtown, a Pan-Asian restaurant in Chelsea, where the food is delicious and the wait staff exceptional.

Marshall Fine, this year's Chairman, greeted each guest as they entered the red carpet. He also emceed the evening.

The presenters and recipients of the awards were equally distinguished: Susan Sarandon, Kevin Kline, Julianne Moore, Tony Kushner, Alec Baldwin, Liam Neeson and Nathan Lane were among those who doled out the honors. The recipients included Kristen Stewart, Phyllis Nagy, Saoirse Ronan, Todd Haynes and Michael Keaton. 

Harvey Weinstein was front and center as the Executive Producer of “Carol,” the biggest winner of the evening with four awards: Screenplay, Cinematography, Director, and Best Picture.
Welcome to the red carpet.

Red Carpet arrivals — Actor Samuel L. Jackson plays a bounty hunter in Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight." with a soundtrack score by the legendary Ennio Morricone.

The famous Italian, now 87 and too frail to travel, was being honored with a special award by the New York Film Critics for "the monumental impact of his contribution to music and to the language of cinema."

Mr. Jackson was on hand to accept the award on behalf of the legendary composer whose latest movie music looms large in Tarantino's most recent venture.
Géza Röhrig, star of "Son of Saul," with the film's director, László Nemes. Mr. Nemes won the award for Best New Film. Kevin Kline, the presenter for best cinematography ("Carol").
Saoirse Ronan, the star of "Brooklyn, who was being honored as Best Actress. This film was certainly one of my favorites. Ronan is in town rehearsing for her Broadway debut in Arthur Miller's "The Crucible," set during the 1692 Salem witch trials.
Marshall Fine, Chairman of the 2015 New York Film Critics Circle, who presided over the evening's festivities, welcomes Ms. Ronan.
Two of my favorite men, Colm Tóibín, the author of "Brooklyn," and Playwright Tony Kushner.
Scribner's Nan Graham, Colm Tóibín, and the Baldwins.
Scott Feinberg, Awards Columnist for The Hollywood Reporter, Peter Travers, film critic for Rolling Stone, and Publicist Peggy Siegal.
Lovebirds Alec and Hilaria Baldwin.
Colm Tóibín and Saoirse Ronan celebrating their homeland.
Marshall Fine and Kevin Kline.
Mark Harris and Tony Kushner. Anne Chaisson, Executive Director of the Hampton International Film Festival, and Patrick Harrison, NY Program Director for The Academy of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences.
Philip and Leonard Lopate.
Pat Birch Becker with her daughter Alison and her son Jonathan. William Becker, who was married to Pat and died last year, launched Janus Films in the late 1960s — a company that helped make the work of Bergman, Bresson, Kurosawa and Ozu known to American audiences. Janus Films was honored with a special award presented by Jim Jarmusch (pictured on the right).
Saoirse Ronan and Susan Sarandon. Ms. Sarandon presented the award for Best Non-Fiction Film — "In Jackson Heights" — directed by Frederick Wiseman. Mr. Wiseman was shooting in Paris and unable to attend.
Julianne Moore presented best supporting actress award to Kristen Stewart.
Kristen Stewart accepting best supporting actress award for "Clouds of Sils Maria."
Harvey Weinstein with his 20-year-old daughter Remy. Film critic Dwight Brown, NNPA Syndication.
"Son of Saul" director László Nemes with Edward Lachman, winner for best cinematography for "Carol." Producer Christine Vachon with New York Magazine's Film Critic, David Edelstein.
After Liam Neeson read his citation honoring Saoirse Ronan for the best actress award, he showed off his Irish manners by helping her up to the podium.
Phyllis Nagy (Best Screenplay) and Tony Kushner (her 'presenter').

Phyllis Nagy, transformed Patricia Highsmith's 1952 lesbian romance — "The Price of Salt" — into the delicate screenplay for "Carol" starring Cate Blanchett in the title role and Rooney Mara as the much younger Therese. The script took Nagy fifteen years to complete.
Actor Nathan Lane presented award for Best Picture to Christine Vachon, Stephen Woolley, and Elizabeth Karlsen — producers of "Carol." Todd Haynes won for Best Director ("Carol").
Michael Keaton won for best actor ("Spotlight"). He started off with notes ...
But then he spoke from his heart ...
... Until finally, it was just a hands-on heartfelt moment.

Text and photographs © by Jill Krementz: all rights reserved. Contact Jill Krementz here.