The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award ceremony

Rick Moody, Peter Rock, Ben Marcus, Adam Johnson, Anthony Doerr, Paul LeClerc, Ethan Hawke, and Jennifer Rudolph Walsh

Last week Anthony Doerr and Jonathan Safran Foer won The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award. It was the first time the New York Public’s Young Lions fiction Award went to two of the five finalists.

Anthony Doerr was awarded for his story collection, The Shell Collector and Jonathan Safran Foer, for his novel Everything Is Illuminated.

“These two works of fiction are both so different and yet so accomplished in their own distinct ways that the judges felt the prize should be shared by both authors," said Dr. Paul LeClerc in presenting the awards. The other finalists were Adam Johnson for Emporium, Ben Marcus for Notable American Women and Peter Rock for The Ambidextrist. The ceremony was held in the Library's landmark building at 42nd Street and Fifth Avenue.

Uma Thurman and Ethan Hawke

The Fiction Award honors a novel or collection of short stories published within the calendar year by an American author age 35 or younger. The award was established by the Young Lions, a membership group for supporters of the Library in their 20s and 30s, and it is the only major book prize that recognizes fiction by younger writers. The establishment of the award was spearheaded by committee members Rick Moody, Ethan Hawke, and Jennifer Rudolph Walsh.

The ceremony, held in the Library’s Celeste Bartos Forum, featured actors Ethan Hawke and Uma Thurman reading excerpts from the finalist's works. Novelist Rick Moody (The Ice Storm, Demonology) spoke about the challenges facing aspiring writers, and literary agent Jennifer Rudolph Walsh introduced the writers and their work.

Anthony Doer was there to accept his award and graciously acknowledge the other finalists. Jonathan Safran Foer was out of the country. His award was accepted by his editor, Eric Chinski, who explained that Foer spent hundreds of hours in The New York Public Library's third-floor Rose Main Reading Room "writing and pondering the Library's pneumatic tube system."

A Reading Committee of Young Lions members, writers, editors, and librarians selected the Fiction Award finalists. The award judges were Joyce Carol Oates, Caryl Phillips, and Colson Whitehead. Whitehead was the award-winner in 2002 for John Henry Days. In 2001 the prize went to Mark Danielewski for House of Leaves.

Nominations for the 2004 award are now being accepted. Award nomination guidelines and entry forms are available from the Library's web site by clicking here or by calling 212-930-0887. Submissions for books published in 2003 will be accepted through August 1, 2003.

About the Young Lions:

For an annual contribution of $300, Young Lions members are invited to special events created for the group by the Young Lions Committee. Programs include panels, lectures, VIP exhibition openings, behind-the-scenes tours and the Young Lions Fiction Award. For more information on the Young Lions and upcoming events, please call 212-930-0670 or check the Library's web site by clicking here.

Ben Marcus, James Johnson, Adam Johnson, and Anthony Doerr
Anthony Doerr with New York Pubic Library President Paul LeClerc.

The Future of Fashion

The Council of Fashion Designers of America and Gen Art hosted an event last night "The Future of Fashion: A Panel Discussion on the Challenges Facing Young Designers Today," followed by cocktails at the Graduate Center of C.U.N.Y.

Bridget Foley, vice president and executive editor of W and Women's Wear Daily, moderated the discussion. The guest panelists were designers Narciso Rodriguez and Rebecca Taylor, Julie Gilhart, fashion director of Barneys New York, attorney Elizabeth Pearce of Pearce LLP, who represents many notable fashion clients, and Sally Singer, fashion news / features director of Vogue.
Isabel Toledo and Stan Herman
Peter Arnold with Elizabeth Pearce, Rebecca Taylor, and Beth Bugdaycay
Zac Posen and Julie Gilhart

Grand Opening of Ago in Miami
Robert De Niro, Chef Agostino Sciandri, and Ian Schrager
Donna Anderson, Billy Snow, and Stacey Robbins
Robert De Niro, Agostino Sciandri and Ian Schrager Hotels celebrated the Grand Opening of AGO at the Shore Club. Guests included Bobby Farrelly, Greg Kinnear, Marisa Tomei, Matt Damon, Peter Farrelly, Robert De Niro, and the Farrelly Brothers.
Iva Majoli, Robert De Niro, and Jennifer Capriati
Dean Winters, Ian Schrager, Blaine Trump, and Kyle McLaughlin
Leslie Lopez, Peter Brandt, and Stephanie Seymour
Erika and Michel Koopman with Brittany and Rob Socol
George Perez and Donnie Soffer
Marita Stavroo and Sarita Tabarez
Kyle McLaughlin and Chef Agostino Sciandri
Rita, Sophia, and Ian Schrager
Ivana Trump and Stephanie Seymour
Jovar and Barbara Becker

Library photographs by Don Pollard


Click here
for NYSD Contents


© 2006 David Patrick Columbia & Jeffrey Hirsch/