History lessons
First Lady Laura Bush on the dais with Roland W. Betts, Louise Mirrer, and Tom A. Bernstein
Sir Thomas Moore
Last Tuesday, a week, the New-York Historical Society President and CEO Louise Mirrer and Honorary Chair First Lady Laura Bush honored Chelsea Piers Founders Tom A. Bernstein and Roland W. Betts at the annual History Makers Gala. Mr. Betts is a former Yale classmate and longtime friend of the President.

There were 450 guests and they raised $1 million for N-YHS programs and educational iniatitives. That must be some kind of record for the museum.

Some of the guests attending were: Gayle Perkins Atkins, Bob and Helen Appel, Diana Benzaquen, Joan and John Jakobson, Yale University President Richard Levin, Carol and John Lyden, Virginia Mailman, Nancy Newcomb (an N-YHS Trustee), Ann and Ken Bialkin, Judy and Ron Blaylock, Lois Chiles and Richard Gilder, Marina Rust Connor and Ian Connor, Mary and Marvin Davidson, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Revson, John and Lizzie Robert Shaw, Robert A.M. Stern, Susan Braddock, Gilbert and Ildiko Butler, Ken and Kathy Chenault, Mrs. Billie Tisch, and John C. Whitehead.
L. to r.: Roland W. Betts, First Lady Laura Bush, and Tom A. Bernstein; Laura Bush and Louise Mirrer.
Laura Bush and Louise Mirrer touring the SINY Gallery
Maria Rosa Menocal and Judge Barrington Dan Parker
Laura Bush with Roland and Lois Betts
Louise Mirrer, Nancy Newcomb, Richard Gilder, and Laura Bush
Nancy Newcomb and Kenneth Bialkin
Richard Gilder, Lois Chiles, and Angela Vallot
The Historical Society of Palm Beach County honored the chairmen, committee members and sponsors of the 6th Annual Archival Evening during a cocktail reception at Amici Ristorante in Palm Beach last Thursday night.

Archival Evening chairman Steven Stolman and vice-chair Ross W.W. Meltzer welcomed guests Minot and Victoria Amory; Jack Young; Donald Burns; Talbot Maxey; Lauryl Guse; Janice Owens; Mac and Jamie Zahringer; Kenn Karakul; Gretta Coupland; Leslie Singletary, and Burt Minkoff.

Mac Zahringer with Chris and Leigh Larmoyeux
The theme of this year’s dinnerdance, which will be held December 1, from 7– 10 p.m. at Club Colette, is “Wonder Women: The Late Great Grande Dames of Palm Beach.”

The event pays tribute to some of the former doyennes of Palm Beach society, Barton Gubelmann, Estee Lauder, Marjorie Merriweather Post, Mary Sanford,and Sue Whitmore and will feature a unique display of photographs, fashions and personal artifacts donated to the Historical Society by these legendary leading ladies who each contributed to the philanthropic and social landscape of Palm Beach.

The Archival Evening is sponsored by the Corcoran Group—Palm Beach and Deutsche Bank Alex.Brown. Dame Celia Lipton Farris is the special benefactor.

The Historical Society’s annual Archival Evening
honors the contributions of notable individuals whose accomplishments and influence have helped to define the history of Palm Beach. Lilly Pulitzer, a leading symbol of tropical resort wear and the true icon of Palm Beach style, was honored last year. Previous honorees include 1920s New York and Palm Beach architect Maurice Fatio, fashion designer Philip Hulitar and society family photographer Betty Kuhner.
Lauryl Guse and Stephen Mooney
Kenn Karakul, Alex Snyder, and Ross Meltzer
Carol Ann and John Stiglmeier
Victoria Amory and Steven Stolman
Talbott Maxey and Mario Nievera
Brian McDonald, Don Burns, and Kenn Karakul
Enter your email address below to subscribe to NYSD's newsletter. It's free!
Email address:
Last Friday night from 9 to 1 am at loft 11 at 336 West 37th Street, the Junior Committee of the Breast Cancer Research Foundation held a benefit evening, "Pink" — an evening of cocktails and hors d'oeuvres, featuring DJ Vibe. Pink attire was encouraged. The evening was a sell-out.
Jamie Rice and Kara Oppenheim
BCRF Junior Committee Chairman Funa Maduka, Jenna Bond Louden, and Rebecca Agonafir
L. to r.: Catherine Littlefield, Chris Winn, Darieth Dargusch, Joyann King, Peyton Carr, and Erin O’Leary.
L. to r.: Nicole Perlroth, Chuck Biblowit, Rachel Biblowit, BCRF President Myra Biblowit, Coco Stiff, Marina Powell, Claire Jordan, Ben Seelaus, Sarah Zeller, and Abby English.
L. to r.: Daniel Ostrow, Rachel Bobrow, Jon Simmons, Justin Karr, Cassie Silverman, Amanda Hurst, Corey Kenyon, Lexi Brine, and Michael Friedland.
L. to r.: Tommy Cooper, Strawn Cathcart, Nathan Davis, Hilary Abrams, and Amanda Gibbons.
Emmy Award-winning actress Martha Byrne who has played the role of Lily Snyder on the CBS Daytime Drama As the World Turns for the past twenty years, hosted a listening party to celebrate the release of her third album The Other Side, at SOHO:323 where she performed five songs from the album for the first time ever.

Among the guests were Kin Shriner, Michael Park, Zack Roeing, Elizabeth Hubbard, Grayson McCouch, Jon Hensley, Kathleen Widdoes, Kelley Hensley, Lamont Craig, Marie Masters, Marie Wilson, Jacob Young, Chris Goutman, Scott Bailey, Mandy Bruno, Gina Tognoni, Napoleon Perdis, and Joseph Kadi.

Byrne’s tender ballads pay homage to Lily’s heartbreaks on the show, the singers own experiences in motherhood and her real-life love, Michael McMahon.
Michael Park and Martha Byrne
Tamara Tunie and Ellen Dola
Joseph Kadi and Susan Blond
Martha Byrne with Peter Deverna and friend
Marie Wilson, Martha Byrne, and Veronica Bakalenik
Alexandra Chando
The crowd
Zach Roerig and Jesse Soffe
And a few days ago over on the left coast, Sir Ben Kingsley presented the Mahatma Gandhi Humanitarian Award to Dr. Mani Bhaumik at the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills. The award, from The Indian American Heritage Foundation, was presented by the `organization's President, Inder Singh to Dr. Bhaumik for his outstanding contributions to science and humanity and in celebration of his bestselling book, Code Name God.
Indian Heritage President Inder Sigh and Dr. Mani Bhaumik
The evening was emceed by Paul Ryan and included a musical performance by Mortonette Jenkins.  Among the celebrities attending the evening were Angie Dickinson, Peter Falk, Rick and Kathy Hilton, Jane Wooster Scott, Carol Connors, Patricia Medina, Dr. Ava Cadell, Betty Garrett, Brett Halsey, Anne Jeffreys, Arte Johnson, Karen Sharpe Kramer,  Trini Lopez, Ruta Lee, Barbara Rush, Sean Toub and more.
Dr. Mani Bhaumik is the co-inventor of the the laser technology that made LASIK surgery possible.  Born in Benegal into a vortex of struggle for Indian independence, Dr. Bhaumik, who as a youngster once lived in Gandhi's camp, survived oppression, epidemic and famine to earn a Ph.D. in physics from India's IIT and a Sloan Foundation Fellowship for postdoctoral work at UCLA.  His contributions to laser technology merited election by his peers as a fellow of the American Physical Society and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.  He is the founder of the Mani Bhaumik Education Foundation, which is currently providing full scholarships to sixty seven underprivileged young men and women.
Barbara Rush and Dr. Mani Bhaumik
Sir Ben Kingsley and Sean Taub
Betty Garrett and Dr. Mani Bhaumik

Photographs by Amir (Kingsley)


Click here
for Today's Social Diary
Click here
for NYSD Contents


© 2006 David Patrick Columbia & Jeffrey Hirsch/NewYorkSocialDiary.com