Lovestruck and Loveless

In celebration of Valentine’s Day 2006, Opus, Contemporary Patrons of The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and Sotheby’s New Collectors hosted LOVESTRUCK, Inspired by Saint Valentine. True to chamber music’s intimacy and association with love and passion, the evening revolved around sensuality and romance bringing together a special performance of Tchaikovsky’s rapturous Sextet for Strings: Souvenir de Florence by artists of the Chamber Music Society and The Romantic Worlds of Peter Guttman, a collection of award-winning photography curated by Brigitte Saint-Ouen of Gramercy 32 Fine Arts.
Dessert bar by La Maison du Chocolat

The fifth floor gallery at Sotheby’s was transformed into a luxurious and sensual space with sheer red draping, blood red roses, romantic candle light, and signature traces of event designer Antony Todd. Guests enjoyed an equally seductive menu of culinary indulgences and aphrodisiacs, including an oyster and caviar station, artisinal fondues, and a decadent post-performance dessert bar by La Maison du Chocolat which proved that the way to a woman’s heart truly is through chocolate. The evening was spearheaded by Opus Founders Lisa and Saar Banin, Robert Deutsch, Michael Evans, Justin Hays Green, Lise Himberg Powers, and Bill and Marie Samuels.

Guests included: James Corl, Ernest de la Torre, Andrea de Vogel, Peter Frelinghuysen, Cindy Farkas Glanzrock, Peter Guttman, Denise Holzer, Norma Hurlburt, Dani Lachowicz, James and Stephanie Loeffler, Jeanne Lunin, Amy Todd Middleton, Monique Millane, Marianna Olszewski, Pia and Eric Ozada, Clyde Reetz, Charles Rockefeller, Brigitte Saint-Ouen, Lisa Singer, Jenny Slayton, Courtney Smith, Christina Wood, Artistic Director of CMS, Wu Han.

Beth Bennett, Lisa Banin, and Rachel Himmelhoch

Camilla Hagen, Bernt Heiberg, and Caroline Hagen

Carol and Richard Miller, Justin Smith, and Amanda Smith

Christina Assael, Annette Rickel, and Norma Hurlburt

Cindy Farkas, Pia Ozada, Monique Millane, and Shahid Quraishi

Debbie Rabbino, Danielle Apostolatos, and Kate Nahon

Jeanne Lunin and John Fishman

Lisa and Saar Banin, Edward Papier, Stephanie Gaines, and Andrea DuVogel

The performance from a distance

Lisa and Saar Banin

Rob Deutsch and Bill Samuels

Lisa Banin, Lise Powers, Justin Green, and Marie Samuels

Terri Kahan, Peter DeSourcy, Marianna Olszewski, and Denise Holzer

Ramona Lambert, Norma Hurlburt, Wu Han, and John Lambert

Peter Frelinghuysen, Wu Han, and Justin Green

The Valentine's day-themed room

Norma Hurlburt, Nils Bolset, Mary and Paul Lambert, Lise Powers, and Peter Frelinghuysen

Norma Hurlburt and Wu Han

Christina Wood and Charles Rockefeller

Virginia Lawson

Brigitte Saint-Ouen and Peter Guttman
Lisa Banin, Lise Powers, and Marie Samuels
Dani Lachowicz and Joanne Azern
James and Annie Lansing
Jenny Slayton and Justin Green
Jenny Slayton and Lisa Singer
Jim and Stephanie Loeffler
John and Laura Glaister
Kimberly Simonton and Jim Corl
Marianna Olszewski and Jim Brodsky
Marie and Bill Samuels
Michael Mandola and Karina Correa-Maury
Nicole DiMartino and Clyde Reetz
Sapa restaurant and Beth Ostrosky celebrated chinese new year — “year of the dog” by hosting a benefit for North Shore Animal League America. 20% of proceeds from executive chef Patricia Yeo’s tasting menu throughout the month of February will benefit the Animal League. ID models dressed in Nicole Miller designs were on hand to help showcase over 25 puppies & dogs that were on site available for adoption. Some of the attendees: Howard Stern, Bryant Gumbel, Britney and Lisa Gastineau, and Michael Easton.

Rob Berkowitz, Brad Zeifman, Liz Rubin with Foxy, and James Goll

Tina Loncaric, Lisa Gastineau, Beth Ostrosky, and Brian Matzkow
Doggy artist Brooke with a pup

Beth Ostrosky

Rob Berkowitz with his adopted puppy Jersey and an ID model
Hilary Quinlan and Bryant Gumbel
L. to r.: February issue of The New York Dog; Scene at the NSAL evening.
Enter your email address below to subscribe to NYSD's newsletter. It's free!
Email address:
Travel + Leisure Editor-in-Chief Nancy Novogrod and SVP/Publisher Ellen Asmodeo hosted the second annual Design Awards celebration last Wednesday at The Cedar Lake Ensemble Theater. The event honored the winners in 15 categories of design as selected by the esteemed jury members: Barbara Barry, Michael Kors, Richard Meier, Alice Rawsthorn, Calvin Tsao, and Angela Westwater, moderated by Travel + Leisure Consulting Design Editor Chee Pearlman. On display in a museum-like setting were installations representing each winning category as well the crystal awards designed by Baccarat.
L. to r.: Ed Kelly, Ellen Asmodeo, Jacob Arabo, Nancy Novogrod, and Angela Arabo; Alice Rawsthorn and Nancy Novogrod.
Ellen Asmodeo, Steve Hanson, and
Nancy Novogrod
Ed Kelly, Nancy Novogrod, Richard Meier, and Ellen Asmodeo

Photographs by ©Patrick McMullan (Lovestruck & T+L).


Click here
for Today's Social Diary
Click here
for NYSD Contents


© 2006 David Patrick Columbia & Jeffrey Hirsch/