Shangri-la on today's party pics ...

The Ms. Foundation held its 18th annual Gloria Awards: A National Salute to Women of Vision dinner at the Mandarin Oriental.  The evening was hosted by women’s rights icon and Ms. Foundation for Women co- founder, Gloria Steinem and Ms. Foundation President and CEO, Sara K. Gould. Presenters for the evening included Pam Grier, star of the hit Showtime series, “The L Word;” Marie C. Wilson, President of The White House Project and former National Football League Quarterback Don McPherson. U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA) addressed the audience via a special video presentation she has created for the occasion.

From protecting voting rights in the hurricane-ravaged Gulf Coast to reaching millions of women through cutting-edge television programming, the five recipients of the Ms. Foundation for Women’s Gloria Awards truly personify the organization’s mission to build women’s power to drive social change nationwide; Lamika Ferdinand (San Francisco, CA) – Young Woman of Vision, through her involvement with The Center for Young Women's Development, this 16-year-old has used her personal experiences with the juvenile justice system to beat the odds and become a leader in her community and an advocate for young women at risk.

Jason Huber, Gloria Steinem, and Margaret Chapman

Susan Grode, Margaret Chapman, and Jaribu Hill

The 2006 Gloria Award winners are: Jaribu Hill of Greenville, Mississippi, Woman of Vision, Executive Director of the Mississippi Workers’ Center for Human Rights; Margaret Chapman of Charleston, West Virginia, Woman of Vision, is the Executive Director of West Virginia FREE, the only organization in West Virginia whose single purpose is reproductive freedom; Betty Cohen of New York, Woman of Vision Corporate Philanthropy, is President and CEO of Lifetime Entertainment Services, and Susan Grode of Los Angeles, Woman of Vision and Action, is a partner of Katten, Muchin, and Rosenman LLP where she is Co-Chair of the firm’s Entertainment and Media Department.

A National Salute to Women of Vision is the Ms. Foundation for Women’s largest annual event. It honors women across the country whose commitment and achievements in the areas of social justice, reproductive freedom, and women’s leadership move society closer to the inclusive and equitable democracy that the Ms. Foundation seeks to create through its grant making initiatives and public education programs. The event was chaired by Ms. Foundation Board members Robert McKay, and his wife Anna Hawken McKay.

The Ms. Foundation for Women, Inc., founded in 1972 with headquarters in New York City, is the first and the leading national women’s philanthropy. We lift women’s and girls’ voices and promote their power to create a more equitable society. The Ms. Foundation for Women provides approximately $4 million in grants and practical training to community-based and national activist women’s organizations throughout the U.S. each year. Our support makes these organizations stronger and more capable of driving social change and public policy advances in the areas of health and safety, economic security, and women’s and girls’ leadership. The Foundation is the creator of the award-winning national public education program, Take Our Daughters To Work® Day, which began in 1993 and evolved to Take Our Daughters and Sons To Work® Day in 2003. For more information about the Ms. Foundation for Women, please visit our Web site at
Rob McKay and Anna Hawken McKay

Kenita Miller

Donald McPherson

Anna Hawken McKay, Marie C. Wilson, and Rob McKay

Pam Grier and Katie Grover

Ms. Foundation for Women Board

Matt Groening and Sara K. Gould

Kanye West performed at the 2006 Cipriani/Deutsche Bank Concert Series benefiting AMFAR at Cipriani Wall Street.

Alexa Davalos and Josh Lucas

Adriana Lima

Kayne West

Sarah Wynter

Sarah, the Duchess of York and Princess Eugenie


Sky Nellor

Elsa and Anastacia

Emil Wilbekin

Marissa Miller


Terrence Howard


La Dolce Vita, where Sinatra dined any night he could when he was in Los Angeles, celebrated its 40th anniversary and the fourth anniversary under new ownership of former New Yorker Al Uzielli and his business partners. The trio wired the place for the cyber world, spiffed up the original interior, kept the old world style service and fave menu and lo, who goes there? Everybody; and as often as they can. They celebrated this anniversary with the American Film Institute and Cameron Silver of Decades.
Elizabeth Stewart and Liz Goldwyn

Gina Gershon

Kimm Uzielli

Kathy Hilton and Brooks Davenport

Cameron Silver

David Simmer and Jon Auto

Jean Firstenberg

Paula Redstone and Sumner Redstone

Maria Bello

Wendy Block

Rose McGowan

L. to r.: William Claxton; Brian Lietch, Mario Bello, and Merle Ginsberg; Suzanne Pleshette.

It was at the Elizabeth Street Garden and Sculpture Gallery (209 Elizabeth Street, between Prince and Spring). Martin Waechter of Shangri-la Hotels and Resorts, the Hong Kong-based luxury hotel group, joined with the guest of honor, Sarah, the Duchess of York and Adelina Wong Ettelson, in co-hosting a “Journey to Shangri-la.” 

It was to celebrate the launch of the hotel group’s first online charity auction to benefit Care for Children, a Beijing-based nonprofit that works in partnership with local and national governments in China to establish foster care programs.  It was a global eBay charity auction.

In the garden that night: Daniel Benedict and Andrew Saffir, Katie Carr, Lauren Ezersky, Sulaika Gormley, Bridget Hall, Carlos Mota, Coralie Charriol Paul, Marjorie Gubelmann Raein, Lily Faifii, Kate Schelter, Denise and Larry Wohl, and Unik.

Ekaterina Boki, Mikhail Lapushner, and Tatiana Kovylina

Emilia Fanjul Pfeifler, Coralie Charriol Paul, and Adelina Wong Ettelson

Kate Schelter and David Gruning

L. to r.: Sarah, the Duchess of York and Martin Waechter; Carlos Mota and Nadine Johnson; Unik.
L. to r.: Christine Cachot Williams, Bill Ettelson, Adelina Wong Ettelson, Andrew Saffir, Marjorie Gubelmann Raein, and Reza Raein; Lori Lincoln and Lyman Carter.
Lauren Durvich, Gary van Dis, and Fern Mallis

Mickey Boardman and David Hershkovits

Bridget Hall

Denise and Larry Wohl

Jen Carlston

L. to r.: The Shangri-La group; Sulaika Zarrouk and Lily Rafi.
Katie Mavretich, Philippe Caretti, and Emilia Fanjul Pfeifler

Sessa von Richthofen and Richard Johnson

Lottie Oakley

Samantha Fennell

Subscribe to NYSD. It's free!!
Email address:

Photographs by Clint Spaulding/©Patrick McMullan (Amfar); Mark Von Holden/DMI Photo (Ms. Foundation); Stefanie Keenan/©Patrick McMullan (La Dolce Vita).


Click here
for Today's Social Diary
Click here
for NYSD Contents


© 2006 David Patrick Columbia & Jeffrey Hirsch/