Friday, September 7, 2012

Fashion, art, and style

Dinner scene at the 9th Annual Style Awards.
On Wednesday on the Promenade of the David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center, the Couture Council of the Museum at FIT honored Oscar de la Renta with the 2012 Couture Council Artistry of Fashion Award. The luncheon benefited the Museum at FIT.

They also announced the inaugural Oscar de la Renta scholarship which was awarded to Macshella Oduro by FIT President Dr. Joyce Brown, who told us that the winner is a terrific student in the haute couture certificate program. Macshella is a young woman from Queens who took sewing lessons while in high school and worked on her pattern making and design skill sets. She couldn’t be present at the luncheon because she is now in Milan classes and will soon return to FIT. “It’s about the work,” de la Renta confided to the guests as he accepted his award. The full scholarship, which covers the entire four years, was given by an anonymous donor (who was present at the luncheon).
Valerie Steele, Alexandra Lebenthal, Oscar de la Renta, Eleanora Kennedy, Liz Peek
Valerie Steele, Alexandra Lebenthal, Eleanora Kennedy, and Liz Peek in their Oscar's, with the man himself.
More good news: The Museum at FIT recently won accreditation from the association of American museums. This honor, which is a very BIG deal in the museum world, is the result of an enormous effort by the Museum’s director Dr. Valerie Steele and the Museum staff.  The commission said the museum has met national standards of excellence and best practices and ... has shown itself to be a "good steward of its resources ... and is committed to a philosophy of continual institutional growth.”
Anna Wintour, Diane von Furstenberg, Oscar de la Renta, Sarah Jessica Parker
Anna Wintour, Diane von Furstenberg, Oscar de la Renta, and Sarah Jessica Parker
Kari Tiedemann, Hilary Geary Ross
Kari Tiedemann and Hilary Geary Ross
Whitney Wolfe, Sarah Wolfe
Whitney and Sarah Wolfe
Barbara Bush, Donna Karan
Barbara Bush and Donna Karan
Simon Doonan
Simon Doonan
Monica Rich Kosann
Monica Rich Kosann
Julie Macklowe, Stephanie Seymour Brant, Eleanora Kennedy, Casey Paul
Julie Macklowe, Stephanie Seymour Brant, Eleanora Kennedy, and Casey Paul
Jacqui Lividini, Tom Florio, Lori Rhodes, Lanette Harrison
Jacqui Lividini, Tom Florio, Lori Rhodes, and Lanette Harrison
Patty Harris, Mayor Michael Bloomberg
Patty Harris and Mayor Michael Bloomberg
Fe Fendi, Yaz Hernandez, Madame Mayhem
Fe Fendi, Yaz Hernandez, and Madame Mayhem
Dori Cooperman, Amy Fine Collins,Sharon Loeb
Dori Cooperman, Amy Fine Collins, and Sharon Loeb
Emilia Sanit-Amand, Karen LeFrak, Eleanora Kennedy, Hilary Geary Ross, and Donna Aquavella
Nina Garcia
Nina Garcia
Carol Mack
Carol Mack
Stacy Engman
Stacy Engman
Miles Redd, John Truex
Miles Redd and John Truex
Sarah Jessica Parker, Diane von Furstenberg, Anna Wintour
Sarah Jessica Parker, Diane von Furstenberg, and Anna Wintour
Diana Taylor, Barbara Walters
Diana Taylor and Barbara Walters
Esther Herror Gaffron
Nina Davidson, Liz Lange, Jane Wagman
Nina Davidson, Liz Lange, and Jane Wagman
Jean Shafiroff, Martin Shafiroff
Jean Shafiroff and Mario Buatta
Tiffany Koury, Barbara Regna
Tiffany Koury and Barbara Regna
Marcia Mishaan, Kim Hastreiter
Marcia Mishaan and Kim Hastreiter
Iris Apfel, Gabriel Rivera
Iris Apfel and Gabriel Rivera
Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Annette de la Renta, Henry Kissinger
Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Annette de la Renta, and Henry Kissinger
Charlotte Moss, Dustee Jenkins
Charlotte Moss and Dustee Jenkins
Stephanie Seymour Brant, Donna Karan
Stephanie Seymour Brant and Donna Karan
Tara Levy, Cameron Silver
Tara Levy and Cameron Silver
Diana Taylor, Hamilton South, Barbara Walters
Diana Taylor, Hamilton South, and Barbara Walters
Alexandra Lebenthal, Michelle Smith, Nadia Swarowski, Donna Karen
Alexandra Lebenthal, Michelle Smith, Nadia Swarowski, and Donna Karen
Cassandra Seidenfeld, Yaz Hernandez
Cassandra Seidenfeld and Yaz Hernandez
Karen LeFrak, Hillary Ross
Karen LeFrak and Hilary Geary Ross
Mai Hallingby Harrison, Kari Tiedemann, Audrey Gruss
Mai Hallingby Harrison, Kari Tiedemann, and Audrey Gruss
Cornelia Guest, Carole Guest
Cornelia and Carole Guest
Chiu-Ti Jansen, Lucia Hwong Gordon
Chiu-Ti Jansen and Lucia Hwong Gordon
Cornelia Guest, Glenda Bailey
Cornelia Guest and Glenda Bailey
Diane von Furstenberg, Anna Wintour, Jean Shafiroff, Oscar de la Renta
Diane von Furstenberg, Anna Wintour, Jean Shafiroff, and Oscar de la Renta
Donna Karan
Donna Karan
Jane Holzer, Bronson van Wyk, Carolina Herrera
Jane Holzer, Bronson van Wyck, and Carolina Herrera
David Patrick Columbia, Eleanora Kennedy, Jane Holzer
David Patrick Columbia, Eleanora Kennedy, and Jane Holzer
Barbara Bush, Sharon Bush, Jenna Bush
Barbara, Sharon, and Jenna Bush
Dawne Marie Grannum, Alison Minton, Joy Marks
Dawne Marie Grannum, Alison Minton, and Joy Marks
Linda Fargo, Ron Frasch
Linda Fargo and Ron Frasch
Penske Media, Style Media and IMG Fashion presented the 9th Annual Style Awards on Wednesday kicking off the world's most prestigious fashion event, Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week.
Matt Dillon, Aimee Kestenberg, Phillip Bloch, June Ambrose, and Derek Warburton
The Awards will be broadcast prime time on the Style Network on Friday, September 14th at 8 pm.
Jeff Gordon, Amare Stoudemire, Carolina Herrera, and Henrik Lundqvist
Jay Penske and Dan Loeb
Iman, Elaine Irwin, and Amy Fine Collins
Jonathan Cheban and Nicole Richie
Ivanka Trump
Stephanie Winston Wolkoff
Joe Lupo and James Watson
Katharine McPhee
Carolina Herrera and Katie Holmes
Rachel Taylor
Elettra Wiedemann
Valentina Zelyaeva
Alex Basob and Marina Braude
Hal Rubenstein
Deanna Rodriguez, Clare Brown, and Wendy Rokose
Carlos Lamadrid and Gerry Byrne
Simon Spurr, Lisa Perry, and Ed Westwick
Claudia Mason
Frederic Fekkai and Shirin von Wuffen
John Demsey
Hamish Bowles
Dr. Lisa Airan and Jill Kargman
Langley Fox and Stacey Bendet Eisner
Julia Flynn and Lorry Newhouse
Harry Kargman, Jill Kargman, Susan Fales-Hill, and Gail O'Neal
Annelise Peterson
Gail O'Neal, Joe Hubrich, Claudia Mason, and Susan Fales-Hill
Patricia Ferrera Lansing, Reed Krakoff, and Delphine Krakoff
Chiu-Ti Jansen
Tammy Mager, Stephanie Winston Wolkoff, and Jennifer Ruff
"Antonio Lopez: Fashion, Art, Sex and Disco" book launch party was also held this past Wednesday at the Prince Goerge Ballroom, hosted by Roger and Mauricio Padiha and MAC Cosmetics.
Mae Alexander
Blake Tysinger and Eric Gartner
Roger Padilha, Fran Drescher, and Mauricio Padilha
George Hess and Caroline Stern
Gazelle and Christina Via
Pat Cleveland, Donna Jordan, and Maria Snyder
Jerry Beersdorf and Chantel Miller
Prince Chenoa, Jacob DeKat, and Niki M'nray
Anita Sarko and Erzen Krivca
Erica Lopez and Neil Aristy
Patrick McDonald and James Aguiar
Cator Sparks and Fay Cantor-Stephens
Holly Bernesser and Cary Neer
Roger Padilha and Mauricio Padilha
Anna Sui
Nancy Bacich and Kenny Kenny
Robert Fontanelli
David Blond and Phillipe Blond
Camilla Pagowski and Tovarah Pagowski
Joey Arias
Photographs by