Tuesday, May 1, 2007

Taking Initiative

At the Food Allergy Initiative's 8th annual Spring Luncheon
The Food Allergy Initiative held its 8th Annual Spring Luncheon, at Cipriani 42nd Street. All proceeds from the event benefited the Food Allergy Initiative’s research activities and educational programs aimed at finding a cure and effectively treating and raising awareness of food allergies.

Abbey Braverman and Roxanne Palin were this year’s Co-Chairs. The Guests of Honor were Dr. Hugh Sampson and Dr. Xiu-Min Li from The Elliot & Roslyn Jaffe Food Allergy Institute, Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Lori Stokes, Anchor, WABC-TV, was the Mistress of Ceremonies.

The Food Allergy Initiative is a national, non-profit organization dedicated to finding a cure for life-threatening food allergies. Through research and clinical activities, FAI’s goal is to develop a cure by 2010. The organization supports public policy initiatives to create safer environments for those afflicted with food allergies. They have also created educational programs for schools, health and child care workers and members of the food service and hospitality industries to increase awareness about food allergies.
Lisa Stewart Jacobs and Liana Silverstein Backal
Roxanne and Dean Palin
Stephanie Winston Wolkoff and Heather Mnuchin
Barbara Calluori, Robert Pacenza, and Susan DiAnthony
Steve and Abbey Braverman with Todd Slotkin
Barbara Winston
Inga Rennert
Lori Stokes
Drs. Xiu-Min Li and Hugh Sampson
Simone Levinson and Sharyn Mann
Julie Karlitz and Donna Slavitt
Roslyn Jaffe
Roxanne Palin and Abbey Braverman

Friday at week ago, the St. George’s Society of New York presented its 237th annual benefit The English Ball at the Grand Ballroom of the Pierre Hotel and honored Lord Saatchi of M&C Saatchi.

The program featured the presentation of The St. George’s Society Medal of Honour to Lord Saatchi, of M&C Saatchi by President Peter M. Felix, CBE, and a live auction of luxury items with George McNeely IV, Senior Vice President of Christie’s, as auctioneer. Dancing to the music of Alex Donner’s orchestra concluded the evening.

The Chairmen of The English Ball 2007 were Vicki Downey and April Gow.

Maurice Saatchi is one of the legends of contemporary British business and advertising. Graduated from the London School of Economics and Political Science in 1967 with First Class Honours in Economics. He won the MacMillan Prize for Sociology in that year. He was the co-founder of Saatchi & Saatchi and is now a partner in M&C Saatchi. He is a Governor of the London School of Economics and a Director of the Centre for Policy Studies. He is the author of The War of Independence, 1999; Happiness Can’t Buy Money, 1999; The Bad Samaritan, 2000; Poor People! Stop Paying Tax!, 2001; The Science of Politics, 2001;If this is Conservatism, I am a Conservative, 2005, and In Praise of Ideology, 2006. He was elevated to the peerage in 1996 and served as Shadow Minister for the Treasury and the Cabinet Office in the House of Lords between 1999 and 2003. He was Co-Chairman of the Conservative Party from 2003 to 2005.

The St. George’s Society is a private, member-supported charity providing stipends to elderly/handicapped poor British and Commonwealth people living in New York. The Society also provides grants to repatriate persons to the United Kingdom, assists others referred by the British Consulate-General and offers cremation and interment in one of their three cemetery plots. It was founded in 1770 by English colonists in New York to help fellow countrymen who had fallen on hard times.

HRH The Duke of Gloucester, KG, GCVO, is the Society’s Royal Patron. Britain’s Consul-General in New York, Sir Alan Collins, KCVO, CMG, is the Society’s honorary president.
Jim Dale, MBE and the Knickerbocker Greys
Nancy Garner, Diana Naples, Vicki Downey, and Francine Thomas
Alysann Sieren and Lord Saatchi
Alex Rawson, Tessa Lockhart, and Chris and Maureen Westfall
Natan and Jessica Bibliowicz
Peter Felix, CBE, Lord Saatchi, and Jim Dale, MBE
Sir Alan and Lady Collins with Lord Saatchi
Bob and Patty Titley
Natalie Pray and Geoffrey Bradfield
Natalie Pray, John Harvey, and Carol Chetrick
Peter Hopkinson, Kazie Harvey, and Rev. Tom Pike
Elizabeth Menegon and Rev. Nigel Massey
Nigel and Liesse Potts
Keith Simpson and Marti Easton
Jim Dale, MBE and Julie Dale
Rev. Tom Pike, Ellsworth G. Stanton III, MBE, and William Blasin
Peter Felix, CBE
Martin and Antoinette Sullivan
Jim Dale, MBE, Margot Astrachan, and Bob Blume
Rodney Johnson, MBE, Jennifer Johnson, and Steven Billick
Last Monday a week ago down at the Didier Aaron Gallery on 32 East 67 Street, the Board of the National Jewelry Institute – Ashton Hawkins, Ralph Esmerian, Judith Price, Herve Aaron, Christopher Forbes and Chantal Miller hosted a reception for the exhibition of the work of Lorenz Baumer who work is currently on exhibition at the Forbes Gallery on lower Fifth Avenue. Monsieur Baumer is a Paris-based jewelry designer with a salon on the Place Vendome. He creates collections, limited editions and custom pieces, using plenty of diamonds and sapphires as well as less conventional materials. His “Vegetable” bracelet for example uses sapphires, diamonds while the “fruit” are in rhodocrosite, jade, tiger eye and jasper. Yours for only 69,250 euros.
Judy Price, Lorenz Bäumer, and Paula Runnels
Layla Khosrovani and Haman Alzayani
Christiane Fischer, Katarina Fischer, and Judy Price
Andres Rodrigues and Princess Radziwill
Ed Herbst and Jane Scott
Diana Feldman and Susan Gutfreund
Lisa Anastos and Julie Macklowe
Susan Tabak and Michele Gerber Klein
Pilar Crespi and Lorenz Bäumer
Nancy Druckman, Alan Salz, president of Didier Aaron, and Ketty Maisonrouge
Christine and Stephen Schwarzman with Kalliope Karella
Josie Natori, Judy Price, and Lauren Buccellati
Violaine and John Bernbach
Emmanuel Perrin, Glenda Bailey, and Marianne Tessler
Bonnie Selfe and Ralph Esmerian
Alexia Hamm and Christopher O’Ferrall

Photographs by ©Patrick McMullan (Food Allergy); Cutty McGill (NJI & St. George).
Click here for NYSD Contents