Thursday, May 3, 2007

Unveiling Music and Art

Unveiling the Josie Robertson School of Music and Art
Last Wednesday a week ago, Josie Robertson was honored by the Women’s Board of The Boys’ Club of New York for her long-time dedication and service to disadvantaged boys.  As a Women’s Board member, president, and Boys’ Club Trustee, Mrs. Robertson has been a driving force behind this important service organization that provides innovative and life-changing educational, mentoring and recreational programs to inner-city boys. 

The huge, spectacular window overlooking the New York City skyline at the Allen Room of Jazz at Lincoln Center in the Time Warner Center served as the backdrop for this elegant and spirited event.  

Chairmen Rebecca deKertanguy, Amy Griffin, Nancy Missett, Betsy Pitts, Hilary Geary Ross, and Jackie Williams carefully planned an evening filled with fun, surprises and tributes to Mrs. Robertson.  The Men’s Committee led by John Griffin, Robert Pitts and Robert Williamson rallied to raise support for The Boys’ Club in Josie’s honor.

Jay, Josie, Alex, and Spencer Robertson

A live auction conducted by Sotheby’s Eliza Osborne gave guests the chance to snare adventures in South Africa, New Zealand, and Tanzania, and escapes to elegant private homes in Paris and on Mustique and St. Barts and aboard a luxury private yacht in the Caribbean.  Boys’ Club Trustee Mike Carney and his orchestra had the guests on their feet all night, setting the pace for this crowd that loves to dance. 

As a favorite highlight that kicks off the Spring Dance each year, The Boys’ Club’s Jefferson Park Clubhouse Band wowed  the guests with their electrifying rhythm-and-blues standards.  (Ages 6 to 16, the boys recently performed with Roger Waters of Pink Floyd at Madison Square Garden and will appear in concert at Harlem’s world-famous Apollo theater.)
Ed Rappa and Ken Langone
Amy Griffin, Sean Spellman, and Nancy Missett
Ed Rappa and Josie Robertson
Ed Rappa with Boys' Club rafflers
Josie Robertson with Ken and Elaine Langone
Eliza Osborne
John Griffin
Women's Board of The Boy's Club of New York
Friederike Biggs and Hilary Geary Ross
Jeff and Barbet Smith
Josie Robertson
John and Amy Griffin
Joanne and Roberto de Guardiola with Hilary Geary Ross
Ellen Niven and Mark Gilbertson
Joanne de Guardiola with Peter and Jamee Gregory
John Griffin
Julia Rasmussen, Bill Keating, and Josie Robertson
Jilian and Josie Robertson
Mario Buatta, Hilary Geary Ross, and Wilbur Ross
Alex Robertson and Josie Robertson
Boys' Club of New York performers
Josie Robertson and Amy Griffin
Deborah Norville and Sara Ayres
View from the Allen Room
Wendy Carduner, Nancy Missett, Pam Ilg, and Elaine Langone

Two weeks ago at the Metropolitan Pavilion, luminaries from the arts and entertainment worlds joined with other prominent New Yorkers at a Benefit Gala to celebrate the arts and further ArtsConnection’s mission of making the arts an essential part of every child’s education. 

ArtsConnection brings programs in music, dance, theater and visual arts to over 120 New York City public schools. It has enriched the lives of over 3 million children who represent the economic diversity of New York’s five boroughs. Funds raised by this benefit evening will help ensure that the organization will continue to enhance the lives of more than 30,000 New York City public school students in the coming year, connecting professional artists with students, teachers and families.

ArtsConnection is chaired by Linda LeRoy Janklow. The benefit was co-chaired by Victoria and Greg Kennedy and Lisa and Richard Plepler.

Bill Maher hosted the dinner program. New York City Schools Chancellor Joel Klein set the tone with remarks about the arts in NYC public schools. John A. Kanas, President of Capital One Banking, was honored for his inspirational leadership in corporate philanthropy. The “Carnivale” themed fanfare was topped off with a performance by Grammy Award-winning guest artist Wyclef Jean and his band.

Others honored included the 2007 ArtsConnection Janklow Award recipients. Established by the organization’s Founding Chairman, Linda LeRoy Janklow, the Janklow Awards are presented annually to an ArtsConnection teaching artist and to a public school principal with whom the organization has a close working relationship, in recognition of longtime commitment and exemplary work.
Penny and Robert Lieberberg
Bill Maher, Richard and Lisa Plepler, and Joel Klein
Michelle Ray Smith
Lisa Plepler and Ed Schlossberg
Jane Buffett and Ed Schlossberg
Marshall Rose and Linda Janklow
Lisa Plepler, Leslee Rogath, and David Rogath
Caroline Kennedy and Ed Schlossberg
Caroline Kennedy and Richard Plepler
Greg Kennedy and Victoria Reese
Lisa Ellis and Richard Plepler
Richard Plepler, Lisa Ellis, and Caroline Kennedy
Carina Moeller and Quentin Vidor
Michelle Ray Smith
Maria Eugenia Arria and Diego Arria
Goussy Celestin, Wyclef Jean, and Angela Starks
Steven and Jane Tennen
Wyclef Jean
Joel Klein, Nicole Seligman, and Marshall Rose
Lisa Plepler and Linda Janklow
Wyclef Jean and Bill Maher
Dancing to the sound of Wyclef
A high-profile crowd from the sports world gathered at Pier 60 on for the 3rd annual Spirit of Jimmy V Gala hosted by The V Foundation for Cancer Research and NIKE.  The evening celebrated Jim Valvano’s legacy and famous “never give up” attitude, and honored seven-time Tour de France winner and cancer survivor/activist Lance Armstrong. While presenting the award, CEO Nick Valvano announced that The V Foundation will unite with the Lance Armstrong Foundation to fund a $2 million grant for a new cancer survivorship center.  Lance gave a very personal and moving speech; he closed by saying “Jimmy V - we’re not giving up!”

The 2007 V Foundation Comeback Trophy was presented to the United States Military Academy Women’sBasketball Team for their emotional “comeback” season following the death of their young coach Maggie Dixon, and talented singer-songwriter Alexa Ray Joel, performed three tracks from her first musical release.  Mom, Christie Brinkley, arrived just in time to hear her sing!

Attendees included: Chris and Jennifer Fowler, John and Wanda Saunders, Coach Magarity and the United States Military Academy Women’s Basketball Team, Peggy Fleming, Anne Thompson, Sue Lipton, Dereck Whittenburg, Nick Valvano, Bob and Kay Lloyd, George and Ann Bodenheimer, Rosa Gatti, Mike McDonald, Harry Rhoads, Ann Mulcahy, Dave and Karen Williams
Nick Valvano
Christie Brinkley and Jill Rappaport
Alexa Ray Joel Performing
Kay Lloyd with Dave and Karen Williams
Lance Armstrong with Jennifer and Chris Fowler
Alexa Ray Joel and Lance Armstrong
Kathleen and Harry Rhoads
George and Ann Bodenheimer
Two players from the Women's Army Basketball Team
Kay and Bob Lloyd
Lance Armstrong
Wanda and John Saunders
Lance Armstrong
Peggy Fleming, Anne Thompson, and Sue Lipton
Women's Army Basketball Team
The V Foundation Comeback Award
Coach Magarity

Photographs by © Patrick McMullan
Click here for NYSD Contents