Monday, October 20, 2008

Honoring Icons of Art and Design

A group toast at Pratt Institute's Legends 2008: A Pratt Institute Scholarship Benefit Honoring Icons of Art and Design.
Last Thursday night at the Lighthouse at Pier 61 on West 23rd and the Hudson River, Pratt Institute held its annual gala, Legends 2008: A Pratt Institute Scholarship Benefit Honoring Icons of Art and Design.

The Honorees were: Takashi Murakami, artist; Julian Schnabel, artist and filmmaker; and Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, writer and advocate for art, architecture, design, and historic preservation.

Hosts for the evening were Pratt’s President, Thomas Schutte, and Chairman of the Board, Mike Pratt. Co-chairs for the evening were Kurt Andersen, Amy Cappellazzo, Marjorie Kuhn.
Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel and Carl Spielvogel
Allison Pottasch, Bruce Hannah, and Tanya VanCott
Charlie Rose and Thomas Schutte
Arlene Blaker and Cliff Blaker
David Nisinson, Patrice Djerejian, and Robert Djerjian
Elizabeth O'Brien and Michael O'Brien
Julian Schnabel and Takashi Murakami
Amy Cappellazzo, Kurt Andersen, and Marjorie Kuhn
Allison Pottasch and Lisa Pottasch
Bonnie Siegler and Jeff Scher
Harry Bogosian and Travis Bogosian
Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Edward Albee, and Carl Spielvogel
Dick Cavett and Olmo Schnabel
Ian Collings and Britt Kapec
Jane Walentas and David Walentas
Laura Moore and Kathleen Scully
Anita Cooney
Joanne Serraino
Karen Adler Miletsky
Jennifer and John Goodkind
Melanie Miracolo, Elizabeth Vallenilla, Olivia Choi, and Megan Jones
Joan and Marc Sherman
Julian Schnabel and Charlie Rose
Theresa Deckner, Matthew Bruch, and Stephanie Parks
Jill Varan, Michael Eisner, Lesley Chi, and Takaya Goto
Ralph Applebaum and Madelynn Gingold
Kit White and Andrea Barnet
Tim Blum, Amy Cappellazzo, and Tom Eccles
Lisa Pottasch and Anne Ainsworth
Mike Pratt
Jane, Ken Silver, Rob Wynne, and Timothy Greenfield Sanders
Marc Eliot and Xiaolei Wu
Timothy Greenfield Sanders and Edward Albee
Mark Robbins and Brett Seamans
Marc Rosen, Juliana Terrian Gilbert, David S. Mack, and Mark Stumer
Stella Schnabel and Vito Schnabel
Last Wednesday night at Cipriani 42nd Street, in the presence of HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco, the Princess Grace Foundation–USA hosted the Princess Grace Awards Gala and presented 31 Awards to emerging artists in theater, dance and film, as well as two Princess Grace Statue Awards to artists who have previously won Awards and have shown achievement and growth in their respective fields. 

Every year, the Princess Grace Foundation-USA (PGF-USA) awards these grants to support its mission of providing crucial support to emerging artists in America. Additionally, Glenn Close was honored with the Prince Rainier III Award in recognition of her outstanding career and contribution to the arts. 
Bebe Neuwirth and Princess Grace Award Winners
Entertainment for the evening included a performance by Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings and dancing to DJ Tom Finn.  Co-chairs for the Gala (and Platinum Sponsors) were Noelle and Dick Wolf, Emmy Award winning writer/producer of the Law & Order drama series and Dolly Lenz, Vice Chairman of Prudential Douglas Elliman. Presenting Sponsor for this year’s Princess Grace Awards Gala was Hermès. Crown Sponsors this year were Ana Tzarev Gallery and Mrs. Edmond J. Safra. 

The Princess Grace Foundation-USA is a not-for-profit, publicly-supported foundation headquartered in New York City founded more than 25 years ago by Prince Rainier III of Monaco in honor of his wife, Princess Grace [Kelly], Prince Albert’s mother.  
Corporate Chair for the Princess Grace Awards Gala is Gérard Cohen, of HSBC Private Bank (Monaco) S.A.
Bebe Neuwirth and Mariska Hargitay
Alexander Peters and Glenn Close
Ted Danson and Ayelet Argaman
Jeff Goldblum, Ted Danson, Mariska Hargitay, David Shaw, and Glenn Close
Dr. Joanne Tobias
Ana Tzarev and H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco
Celeste Holm
Eve Piaget
Petra Nemcova
Rose Byrne
Marjorie Andrade
Shoshana Dadoun
Reza Pahlavi and Princess Yasmine Pahlavi
Charlene Wittstock and Donatella
Christopher and Georgianne Walken
Reza Pahlavi, Ellen Noghes, Princess Yasmine Pahlavi, Bonnie McElveen-Hunter, and Ambassador Gilles Noghes
Maguy Maccario-Doyle
Elisabeth Ocko and Eha
Alec Hammond
Lauren Thayer and Manuela Savona
Mariska Hargitay, Jeff Goldblum, Glenn Close, and Rose Byrne
Sanam Gabayzadeh
John F. Lehman
Lisa Lori, Lauren Thayer, and Alexis Blais
Kasia McCormick and Stephanie Kamfar
Dolly Lenz, Dick Wolf, and Julia Merck
Jim Dale
Judith Light
Marie-Claire Gladstone and Robert Gladstone
Mikki Micarelli
Marie-Claire Gladstone, Tommy Hilfiger, and Dee Ocleppo
Tabatha Coffey and Rene Fris
Last Thursday night in the Frank Gehry-designed IAC Building on 555 West 18th Street, the Young Friends of the ASPCA held their annual “Shaggy Dog” Gala. The benefit of which Katie Lee Joel was honorary chair, featured DJ Berrie. Cocktails, dancing and a silent auction, the party ran from 9 to 1.
Ed Sayres (ASPCA President and CEO) and Kristen Johnston
Andrew Black and John Auerbach
Ricky Sitomer and Lake Bell
Thom Filicia and Maggie Rizer
Katie Lee Joel with Penny the Dog
Allison and Arielle Greenberg
Also last week, over at Bergdorf’s, they had a booksigning for Jeffrey Bilhuber and his new book “Defining Luxury: The Qualities of Life at Home” (photographs by Trel Brock).
From Defining Luxury: The Qualities of Life at Home.
Jeffrey Bilhuber is one of those fellows who is a multi-tasker. Putting this book together came through spending his weekend hours shooting and planning it since his daily business schedule is hectic. He is also a new father with son Christoph who was two last July 26. I remember the date because I share the same birthday. Jeffrey also did a great interview with NYSD HOUSE last year, in case you want to get a look at some of his work for himself.
Eduardo Garza and Martha O'Brien
Jeffrey Bilhuber
Michael Gross and Harriet Weintraub
Lindsay Sleege and Jeanne Chapel
Casey Rodgers and Cannon Hodge
Stephen Drucker and Jeffrey Bilhuber
Alison Brod
Thomas Burak and Elizabeth Connolly
Allison Turner
Jeffrey Bilhuber and Linda Hia
Robert Rufino
Nicholas Manville and Wendy Goodman
Lee Robbins and Lenore Robbins
Fran Harris and Michael Boris
Todd Merrill and Christina Juarez
Erik Palcsesz and Lary Watson
Stewart Rahtz, Bill Farmer, and John Derentis