Wednesday, May 28, 2008

The Art of Giving

El Museo's 15th Annual Gala.
Last Thursday night at Cipriani 42nd Street,  El Museo held its annual gala and honored the distinguished author Mario Vargas Llosa. This was the 15th annual gala which is celebrated in the Latin tradition with a Quinceanera. Guests were instructed to dress in white or black with long gloves and tiaras options for the ladies. Among those attending included Carolina Herrera, Francisco Costa, Christian Cota, Narciso, Rodriguez, Angel Sanchez, Clarissa Brodsky, Agnes Gund, Susan Gutfreund, Ruben and Isabel Toledo. The reigning Miss Universe, Miss USA and Miss Teenage America also made a special appearance.

The El Museo Gala is New York’s most prestigious night of philanthropy for the Latin and Latino community. They have also turned it into one of the most glamorous and fun parties of all New York galas.
Trudy Cejas and Ambassador Paul L. Cejas
Jose and Carmen Unanue
Angel Collado-Schwarz and Tony Bechara
Christine Cachot, Christina Roig Morris, and Carmen Slade
Christopher Mason
Christine Cachot, Gustavo Arango, and Sandra Ripert
Miss Teen USA Hilary Cruz, Yaz Hernandez, and Miss USA Crystle Stewart
David Granoff and Joan Jedell
Fabiola Beracasa and Carlos Mota
George Kaufman
Joel Ehrenkrantz
Juan Carlos Arcila-Duque and Agatha Ruiz de la Prada
Ambassador John Loeb and Sharon Handler
Maria Cornejo and Narciso Rodriguez
Jana Pasquel and Christian Cota
Sandra Sanches
Sylvana Soto-Ward
Vilma Brennan
Julian and Tasha Zugazagoitia
Pablo and Carolina Cejas
Yolanda Santos and Julian Zugazagoitia
Francisco Costa with Isabel and Ruben Toledo
Alexis Clarke and Ruben Toledo
Paul Cavaco and Candy Pratts Price
Jorge Plasencia, Nicole Miller, Romero Britto, and Frances Sevilla-Sacasa
Agatha Ruiz de la Prada and Dr. Mario Vargas Llosa
Francisco Costa and Dora Beatriz Cortes Stoudemire
Patricia Llosa, Tony Bechara, Anna Remos, and Carlos Picon
Luisana Mendoza
Sabina Forbes
James Slattery, Bud Nolan, Carolina Dorson, Cameron O'Mara, and Yasmine Nemazee
Miss USA Crystle Stewart, Richard Turley, and Gillian Miniter
Sarah Wolfe and Whitney Wolfe
Children for Children held its Eighth Annual Benefit, “The Art of Giving” last Wednesday night at Christie’s. There was a Benefit Dinner for sponsors complete with a Live Auction.

The evening’s honorees who were Sherrie Rollins Westin, of Sesame Workshop and her husband David Westin, of ABC News. George Stephanopoulos presented the awards. Cynthia McFadden of ABC’s Nightline was emcee.

Event chairs were Richard I. Beattie, Andrea and Tom Bernstein, Blair Husain, Kathy Lacey and Jim Hoge, Leora and Daniel Rosenberg, and Joe Versace.

Connoisseur Sponsors were: ABC News, Citi - MacAndrews & Forbes, News Corporation and UnitedHealthcare. CFC’s Champions were: Anonymous, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and Laura and Robert Sillerman.

Jill Braufman and Daniel Nir, Jan and Lloyd Constantine, Joan Ganz Cooney and Peter G. Peterson, Catherine Croley, Fisher Price, Karen Finerman and Lawrence Golub, Kate and Adam Goodman – Trudy and Robert Gottesman, J.L. Berkowitz & Co. LLC, Leah Keith and Dan Cohen,  Elena and Tory Kiam, Merrill Lynch, Perry Capital LLC, Reader’s Digest, Maureen White and Steven Rattner, Sesame Workshop, Sherrie and David Westin.
Karenna Gore Schiff
Cynthia McFadden
Ralph Macchio
Maggie Jones and Silda Wall
Steve Rattner
Silda Wall and Commissioner Nicholas Scoppetta
Daquan Daly and Maggie Jones
Karenna Gore Schiff, Silda Wall, Joel Klein, and David Westin
Maurice DuBois, Andrea DuBois, Alexis Clark, and Jason Wright
George Stephanopoulos
Deborah Roberts and Al Roker
Karenna Gore Schiff, Silda Wall, David Westin, and Sherrie Rollins Westin
Chris Cuomo and Cristina Greeven Cuomo
Suzanne and Tom Murphy
Maggie Jones and Lydie Fenet
Also last Wednesday night at the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center there was a book party for photographer Nancy Ellison and her wonderful new photographic book “A Classic Style: The Splendor of American Ballet Theater.”

The book depicts such ballet classics as La Bayadere, Othello, The Sleeping Beauty, Manon, Romeo and Juliet, Swan Lake, and Giselle. It captures the virtuosity of its company including Angel Corella, Nina Ananiashvili, Alessandra Ferri, Julio Bocca, and Ethan Stiefel. ABT’s artistic director Kevin McKenzie has written the foreward.
Joseph Volpe, Kevin Mckenzie, Nancy Ellison, and Bill Rollnick
Paloma Herrera and Fernando Aldazabal
Barbara Myers and Kara Shibiya
Flavio Salazar, Stuart Saltzman, and Fernando Aldazabal
Jim Trager, Nina Ananiashvili, and Mary Mylenki
Ellen Cahill and Leah Cohen
John Banta and Amy Brown
Louisa Benton and Paul Cahill
Kara Shibiya and Jillian Barsalou
Mary Mylenki and Jim Trager
Jody and Tom King
Mary Singer and Eric Jorgensen
Gay Watkins and Nancy Brown
Mimi Bradley, Kathy Lu, and Kara Shibiya
Missy Gibbs, Rachel Moore, and Matei Varga
Madeline Oden and David Lansky
Helen Cantu and Kristy Duarte
Rachael Kirwin, Allen Feuer, and Peter Lyden

Photographs by ©

Click here
for NYSD Contents