Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Excellence Awards

Cocktails during Castle Connolly Medical's 6th annual National Physician of the Year Awards at the Hudson Theater in the Millennium Broadway Hotel.
This past Monday night, Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. held its 6th annual National Physician of the Year Awards at the Hudson Theater in the Millennium Broadway Hotel here in New York. The Awards recognize and honor five exemplary physicians, as well as the many thousands of other excellent physicians practicing in communities throughout the United States.

Honorees this year were; George P Canellos, M.D., Senior Physician Department of Medical Oncology – Dana Farber Cancer Institute and William Rosenberg Professor of Medicine at the Harvard Medical School. Dr. Cannellos has been a leading contributor to the treatment of advanced Hodgkin’s disease and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, integrating antibody theerapy with cytotoxic agents; Matthew D. Davis M.D., Professor Emeritus, Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.
John Castle, Wayne Isom, George Canellos, David Kennedy, Armando Giuliano, John Connolly
John Castle, Wayne Isom, George Canellos, David Kennedy, Armando Giuliano, and John Connolly
Evelyn Lauder, John Castle
Evelyn Lauder and John Castle
George Canellos, Jean Morgan
George Canellos and Jean Morgan
The Clinical Excellence Award, recognizing physicians who exemplify excellence in clinical medical practice, was presented to: Armando. E. Giuliano MD, Director, Chief of Science and Medicine at the John Wayne Cancer Institute at St. John’s Health Center; David W. Kennedy MD, Professsor of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania; and O. Wayne Isom, MD, Professor and Chairman, Terry Allen Kramer Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery at New York-Presbyterian Hospital, Weill Cornell Medical Center.

Then there was the National Leadership Award, awarded to a non-physician whose tireless work with an organization has heightened the awareness for the need of support and research for that specific cause. This year’s award went to Evelyn Lauder, indefatigable friend and supporter of breast cancer research in the world.

Mrs. Lauder, Senior Corporate Vice President of the Estee Lauder Companies, is also founder and Chairman of the Breast Cancer Research Foundation, and helped as well in establishing the Evelyn H. Lauder Breast Center at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York.
Michael Setzen, David Kennedy, Euginia Vinings, Elina Toskala
Michael Setzen, David Kennedy, Euginia Vinings, and Elina Toskala
Nechama Liss-Levinson, William Liss-Levinson
Nechama Liss-Levinson, and William Liss-Levinson
George Canellos, Ingrid Canellos
George and Ingrid Canellos
Max Gomez, Wayne Isom, Pat Isom, Catherine Isom, Mark Isom
Max Gomez, Wayne Isom, Pat Isom, Catherine Isom, and Mark Isom
Ingrid Canellos, George Canellos, Larry Norton, Leonard Lauder, Evelyn Lauder
Ingrid Canellos, George Canellos, Larry Norton, Leonard Lauder, and Evelyn Lauder
Sherrell Aston, Myra Biblovit
Sherrell Aston and Myra Biblowit
Max Gomez, Jane Youdelman
Max Gomez and Jane Youdelman
Anne Akers, Evelyn Lauder, John Connolly, Sharon Marantz-Walsh
Anne Akers, Evelyn Lauder, John Connolly, and Sharon Marantz-Walsh
John Castle, James Orsini, Toni Orsini, Ingrid Connolly
John Castle, James Orsini, Toni Orsini, and Ingrid Connolly
David Kennedy, Elina Toskala,  Jordan Josephson
David Kennedy, Elina Toskala, and Jordan Josephson
Evelyn Lauder, Larry Norton, Euginia Vining
Evelyn Lauder, Larry Norton, and Euginia Vining
John Castle, Alexandra Reeve
John Castle and Alexandra Reeve
Iona Mccoy, Pamela Allen
Iona Mccoy and Pamela Allen
Fabrizio Michelassi, Armando Giuliano
Fabrizio Michelassi and Armando Giuliano
Last Saturday night The Perlman Music Program held its annual Spring Benefit Concert and dinner, with Itzhak Perlman performing with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra at Carnegie Hall.
Itzhak Perlman, Rabbi Daniel Allen, Laura Sloate, Shoshana Dweck, Jay Dweck, and Dr. Nesli Bazgoz
Afterwards Toby and Itzhak Perlman hosted a dinner for the supporters and their guests at Restaurant Daniel.
Sidney Stark and Morgan Stark
Alan Alda and Itzhak Perlman
Dr. Ruth King and Dr. Steve Ryave
Dr. Morton Hamburg and Joan Hamburg
George Drapeau, Sheila Drapeau, and Jay Dweck
Chrisoula Pirrman and Barry Pirrman
Alan Alda and Arlene Alda
Patrick Romano and Maureen Nash
Itzhak Perlman, Eleanora Kennedy, and Michael Kennedy
Jack Wynn and Saskia Weinstein
Eleanor Albert
Sun-Sun De Swaan and JC De Swaan
Svetlana Wachtell
Toby Perlman and Itzhak Perlman
Janice Gerton and Martin Riskin
Herbert Wachtel, Svetlana Wachtel, Jody Wolfe, and Dr. Annette Rickel
Jay, Gabriel, Joshua, Shoshana, and Olivia Dweck
This past Monday at the Trump Wollman Ice Skating Rink, there was a “Skate For a Safe City” event to benefit the New York City Police Foundation.
Raymond Kelly and Clyde Brownstone
Erica Lerner, Erik Ruchim, and Elisabeth Lorber
Raymond Kelly and Valerie Salembier
Austin Hoffman, Michael Lorber, and Seth Gannsberg
Amy, Lesley Schulhof, and Laura Garcia
Carrie Hyman, Seth Ginsberg, and Morgan Shara
Khajak Keledjian and Marian Abdullan
Ariel Schuster and Nichole Schuster
Greg Kwait and Russell Kwait
Lisa Airan and Trevor Born
Alexandra Agoston
Jason Solarel, Michael Szirgak, Tamara Szirgak, and Nick Cascio
Sarah Howard and Alison Newman
Peter Paruch and Dayna Hart
Tatiana Stepanovic and Alexandra Stepanovic
Stephanie LaCava
Etan Rockway and Gabee Talsky
Jacj Devdrdaux, Raymond Kelly, and Jeff Parsons
Fabiola Beracasa, Raymond Kelly, and Shoshanna Gruss
Joseph Jung, Uri Itkin, and Karen Ahoogf
Also, this past Saturday, over at Doubles, the private club in the Sherry Netherland, there was a birthday party celebrating the Big Day of Whitney Wolfe.
Michel Heredia, Federico Garza, Jessica Garza, Nick Vita, and Whitney Wolfe
Nick Vita, Whitney Wolfe, Edwin Burke, Yvonne Burke, Steve Wolfe, and Claire McConnell
Werner Ahlers and Whitney Wolfe
Meghan Kelly and Torie Ross
Kent Insley, Meegan Insley, and Torie Ross
Whitney Wolfe and Tatyana Ahlers
Robert McKenna, Tifanny McKenna, Sharon Sharma, and Sujan Patel
Tory Ross, Sharon Sharma, and Bridge George
Torie Ross, Taylor Wielage, and Liana Ryan

Photographs by

Click here
for NYSD Contents