Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Fall Fun

Lorraine Morgan, Carey Rutkoske, Jeanine Salvatore, Sara Britton, and Mary Busby at the Central Park Conservancy's Annual Fall Luncheon.
This past Monday, September 26th, The Board of Directors of the Women's Committee of the Central Park Conservancy hosted its Annual Fall Luncheon at the Mandarin Oriental in its ballroom with the sweeping views of Central Park and the architecture around Columbus Circle. Thomas P. Campbell, Director & CEO, The Metropolitan Museum of Art was the special guest, and after lunch ABC News Correspondent and Central Park Conservancy Trustee Deborah Roberts sat down to have a conversation with him about the Museum.

Among those attending were Suzie Aijala, President of the Women's Committee, co-chairs of the luncheon, Virginia Apple, Ann Clairmont, Lauren Kenny and Paige Rustum. Among others attending were Noreen Buckfire, Norma Dana, Anne Harrison, Rachel Hovnanian, Tracey Huff, Eleanora Kennedy, Sheila Labrecque, Karen LeFrak, Alexia Leuschen, Kamie Lightburn, Karen May, Gillian Miniter, Marcia Mishaan, Neda Navab, Yesim Philip, Jenny Price, Barbara Cirkva Schumacher, Sharon Teles, and Douglas Blonsky, President & CEO Central Park Conservancy.
Deborah Roberts and Thomas Campbell
The event was generously supported by Van Cleef & Arpels for the 6th consecutive year.

The mission of Central Park Conservancy is to restore, manage and enhance Central Park in partnership with the public, for the enjoyment of present and future generations.  A private, not-for-profit organization founded in 1980, the Conservancy provides 75 percent of Central Park's $67 million park-wide expense budget and is responsible for all basic care of the Park. For more information on the Conservancy, visit
Thomas Campbell, Suzie Aijala, Deborah Roberts, and Doug Blonsky
The Women's Committee is a group who are dedicated to the beautification and preservation of Central Park. Founded in 1983 by four visionary women, the Women's Committee has been instrumental in increasing awareness and raising funds for many Park projects, including reconstruction of the Charles A. Dana Discovery Center, renovation of Safari Playground twice, and re-creation of the urns at Bow Bridge. The Women's Committee raises nearly 15 percent of the Conservancy's $67 million annual budget through membership and fundraising events. Since 1983, the Women's Committee has raised over $150 million. 
Vanessa Cornell, Alison Brokaw, and Shirin Christoffersen Betsy Blau and Emilia Saint-Amand
Marianne Engle and Noreen Buckfire
Barbara Cirkva Schumacher, Gillian Miniter, and Mitchell Silver
Wendy Carduner and Nell Kleinschmidt Marcia Mishaan, Bettina Zilkha, and Lea Carroll
Lauren Kenny, Virginia Apple, Ann Clairmont, and Paige Rustum Angela Clofine and Shannon Henderson
Isabelle Rattazzi, Memrie Lewis, Norma Dana, and Anne Sitrick
Eleanora Kennedy, Jen Oken, and Claudia Overstrom
This past Saturday evening at the Glass House, Delphine and Reed Krakoff held a cocktail reception with Krug Champagne to celebrate Yayoi Kusama's Dots Obsession installation.

From the Glass House, guests moved on to Reed and Delphine's house in New Canaan for a seated dinner catered by Rosie and more Krug Champagne. 50 friends of the Krakoff's attended and they raised $45,000 for the Glass House preservation projects. Sotheby's supported the evening as well.
Kusama's Dots Obsession installation at the Glass House
Yayi Kusama Pumpkin
The event was supported by Krug Champagne
Guests included Reed and Delphine Krakoff, Amy and Christopher Astley, Michael and Elizabeth Chu, Frederic Dechnik and Carlos Falcon, Nina del Rio, Lisa Dennison, Scott Drevnig, Paul Goldberger, Pierre Guillot, Edwin B. Hathaway, Valerie and Jean-Christophe Hermann, Katherine and Peter Kend, Tony Maddalena, Susan Magrino Dunning and Jim Dunning, Anthony and Sandy Minichetti, Vincent Pages, Valerie and Jeff Peltier, Lisa and Richard Perry, Raquel Cayre, Jodi Pollack, Greg Sages, Amanda Shore, Laurie Simmons and Carroll Dunham, Michelle Slater and Dmitri Sinenko, Martha Stewart, Harlan and Sabina Stone, Jeffrey Uhl and Rod Cummings.
Reed and Delphine Krakoff and family
Anthony and Sandy Minichetti
Dimitri Sinenko, Michelle Slater, and Sabina and Harlan Stone
Lisa Perry
Elizabeth and Michael Chu
Jeff and Valerie Peltier
Valerie Hermann and Frederic Dehnik
Susan Magrino, Martha Stewart, and Elizabeth Chu
Scott Drevnig, Christa Carr, and Vincent Pages
Martha Stewart and Reed Krakoff
Amy Astley
Lisa Dennison and Jodi Pollack
Paul Goldberger, Delphine Krakoff, and Scott Drevnig
Laura Tucker, Nina del Rio, and David Tucker
A touch of Broadway dropped in at the beautiful Greenwich home of Theatre Forward Board Member Pamela Farr and her husband Buford Alexander on Saturday night when they hosted a cocktail party for Theatre Forward and their special guest, Honorary Chair Richard Thomas. Pamela and Buford are the Gala Committee Chairs for the upcoming Chairman's Awards Gala in Spring 2017.
The evening started with Anna Ebbesen at the piano playing a selection from shows that originated at Theatre Forward's member theatres including Waitress, Next to Normal, A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder, Curtains, and Into The Woods.  Additionally, Elizabeth A. Davis and Joe Carroll entertained guests with two numbers from others shows that originated at Theatre Forward theatres.  The first was from the musical Rain, which premiered this spring at the Old Globe in San Diego. The second was from the musical Once, which premiered at American Repertory Theater in Cambridge and earned Elizabeth a Tony award nomination.
Bruce E. Whitacre, the Executive Director of Theatre Forward told the guests that for almost 40 years, Theatre Forward has advanced American theatre and its communities by providing funding and other resources to their network of 19 leading not for profit regional theatres across the country.  A partial list of the shows coming to Broadway this season from their member theatres includes The Great Comet of 1812, Anastasia, Come From Away, and Dear Evan Hansen. Bruce also welcomed Board Members Mitch Auslander, Brian Harkins, and the Managing Director of Long Wharf Theatre, Joshua Borenstein who were in attendance.
Buford Alexander, Richard Thomas, Pam Farr, and Bruce Whitacre
Richard Thomas, the Emmy Award-winning actor who most recently played Jimmy Carter in a production of Camp David at the Old Globe, and was recently seen on the FX drama series The Americans, spoke about Theatre Forward's impact on individual artists and the theatre community. He went on to emphasize the fact that Theatre Forward member theatres strive to make powerful contributions to their communities through plays and musicals that tell the stories of our times. The education programs Theatre Forward supports not only ensure a future audience, but also ensure a productive and successful life and career for the next generation.

To learn more about Theatre Forward and the 2017 upcoming Chairman's Awards Gala please visit:
Dr. Steve Goldstein and Diane Habig
Diane Habig and Anki Leeds Mitchell Auslander and Kim Abraham
Bruce Whitacre, Fran Buckley, and Buford Alexander
Julie O'Rourke and Stephen Acunto Wendy Sarasohn and Christine Biddle
Joshua Borenstein and Brian Harkins
Anna Ebbesen, Elizabeth A. Davis, Jordan Richard, and Joe Carroll
Micki Linen, Howard Clark, and Julian and Kathy Markby
Carole Bellidora Westfall and Helen Fitzgerald Carole Haarmann Acunto and Peter Walker
Bruce Whitacre, Stefano Miceli, Pepper and Carl Anderson, and Carl Sylvestre
Emily Miller, Natalie Avit, Bruce Whitacre,and Carl Sylvestre
Juan Gonzalez, Jessica Farr, Pam Farr, and Buford Alexander
Kathy Markby, Heidi Hanson, Michael Barker, and Francine Walker
Photographs by Max Lakner/ (CPC); Chichi Ubina (Theatre Forward)