Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Friends of the Domaine de Chantilly's inaugural gala

Guests enjoy Laurent-Perrier's signature "La Cuvée" champagne during the pre-dinner reception.
On September 12, Friends of the Domaine de Chantilly (FODC) welcomed 230 guests to the Château de Chantilly in France for its first-ever gala, held under the high patronage of His Highness the Aga Khan (President, Fondation de Chantilly) and Prince Gabriel de Broglie (Chancellor, Institut de France).

Prince Amyn Aga Khan (FODC Chairman) and Maryvonne Pinault (FODC Board member and Gala Chair) greet guests
The evening kicked off in the Gallery of Paintings with Prince Amyn Aga Khan, FODC Chairman, and Maryvonne Pinault, Gala Chair, highlighting efforts to preserve Chantilly's treasures. Then guests were treated to a private concert by Les Arts Florissants featuring William Christie and Lea Desandre.

After enjoying a champagne reception in the Stag Gallery, guests savored a three-course meal paired with fine wines. Exceptionally, they dined surrounded by incredible artworks and furnishings in the Grand Reception Rooms where, for the first time, a private dinner was held. Each table was exquisitely decorated with floral centerpieces and Sèvres-inspired porcelain.

The festivities concluded on the castle's terrace with a fireworks show that illuminated André Le Nôtre's French garden in gold and silver to the sound of French baroque music.

This extraordinary soirée not only celebrated Chantilly's rich heritage but also raised important funds to restore precious artworks in the private chambers of the Duke and Duchess d’Aumale. It was attended by American and European collectors, philanthropists, business leaders, and cultural influencers who marveled at Chantilly's masterpieces and were delighted to participate in their preservation.

For more information, visit FODC.
French traditional hunting horns announce the arrival of guests at the Château de Chantilly
Les Arts Florissants perform in Chantilly's famed Gallery of Paintings amid masterpieces of French and Italian paintings
William Christie (Founder and Musical Director), Lea Desandre (mezzo-soprano) and the musicians of Les Arts Florissants
Vestibule of Honor.
The Stag Gallery, the Château de Chantilly's former dining room, specially decorated for the evening
Table of Honor in the Bedchamber of the Prince de Condé decorated with silver Ercuis candelabras
The Antechamber filled with artworks
Floral centerpiece by Eric Chauvin and fine tableware by Options in the Corner Study
Chantilly's incredible Reading Room where 20,000 rare books and precious manuscripts are presented
Guests seated in the Gallery of Battles for dinner catered by Lenôtre and paired with fine wines from Villa Baulieu and Château Branda
FODC Board member Henri Loyrette and Baroness Antoinette Seillière Dominique Arpels and FODC Board member Christian Langlois-Meurinne
Daria Botin, Aymon Brunel, FODC Board member Nathalie Brunel, and Milana and Maxime Gaignault
Karin Reza and Honorary Committee members Eric and Caroline Freymond Joan Kahn and Honorary Committee member Christopher Forbes
Honorary Committee members Countess and Count Edouard de Boisgelin, FODC Board member Nathalie Brunel, and Arnaud Brunel
François Pinault, FODC Board member and Gala Chair Maryvonne Pinault, and William Christie Honorary Committee members Félicité and Serge Weinberg
Honorary Committee members William and Katharine Rayner Princess Leticia Poniatowski, Countess Lilian Rossi di Montelera, and Prince Stanislas Poniatowski
Peter Marino and Carolyne Roehm Countess Maria Pilar de la Béraudière, Lynn Wyatt, and Baroness Silvia de Waldner
Honorary Committee member Frédéric Jousset and guests.
Marcus and Kate Agius Véronique and Louis-Antoine Prat
Julia de Bierre, Robin Hambro, and Bradley Lander
Joshua and Ruth Berman Myriam Lafon, Baron Edouard Vermeulen, and Princess Pedro de Bragance
Honorary Committee member Bertrand Chardon, Yolaine Destremau, and Roman Kamir Françoise and Xavier Guerrand-Hermès
HRH Princess de Bourbon des Deux-Siciles and Max Blumberg Countess Isabelle de Gourcuff with Countess and Count Antoine de Pracomtal
Hervé and Marina Aaron with Prince Stanislas Poniatowski Honorary Committee members Bertrand and Irène Chardon
Duchess Sophie de Wurttemberg with Count and Countess Hélie de Ganay
Bruno Frisoni, Becca Cason Thrash, and Hervé van der Straeten Olivier and Caroline Robin-Marieton
A fireworks show created specially by Grand Final illuminate the garden
Guests enjoy the fireworks from the castle's terrace
Photographs by (c) Luc Castel