Friday, March 9, 2018

Magical nights

The Jewish Museum’s 32nd Annual Purim Ball at The Pierre.
The Jewish Museum’s 32nd Annual Purim Ball was held at The Pierre on Monday, February 26, 2018. The annual fundraising gala raised more than $2.8 million to support the Museum’s exhibitions and public programming while attracting over 1,000 attendees from New York’s corporate, social, and cultural communities. Guests enjoyed dinner and a lively after party in celebration of Purim. Festive attire and flamboyant masks were encouraged.
Sascha Greenberg, Corporate Honoree Evan G. Greenberg, Lauren Vanlandingham, Jacob Greenberg, Marigay McKee, Purim Ball 2018 Co-Chair William Ford, and performers
Corporate Honoree Evan G. Greenberg, Chairman and CEO of Chubb, was recognized by Scott C. Nuttall for his remarkable intellect, character, and devotion to worthy causes. Cultural Honoree Alex Israel, whose work is in the Museum’s collection, was lauded by Jack Bankowsky for his extraordinary and varied artistic achievements. Nev Schulman, of MTV’s Catfish, served as Master of Ceremonies. Designer David Stark transformed The Pierre into a surreal white space filled with balloons and candelabras, baroque human tableaus, and fantastical Purim characters.
Claudia Gould, Helen Goldsmith Menschel Director, The Jewish Museum Corporate Honoree Evan G. Greenberg, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Chubb
Purim Ball 2018 Co-Chairs were Stephen A. Cozen, William E. Ford, and Scott C. Nuttall. Vice-Chairs included Shari and Jeff Aronson, Jonathan and Darcie Crystal, Mary Callahan Erdoes and Philip Erdoes, Wendy Fisher and Dennis Goodman, Dan Glaser, Betty and John Levin, Barbara and Ira Lipman, Beth and Joshua Nash, Nancy and Morris W. Offit, Tracey and Robert Pruzan, David Resnick and Catherine Klema, Susan and Stephen Scherr, John Shapiro and Shonni Silverberg, James and Jane Stern, Monica and Andrew Weinberg, Audrey and Zygi Wilf, Jane and Mark Wilf, and Susan and Benjamin Winter.
Purim Ball 2018 Co-Chair Scott Nuttall, Corporate Honoree Evan G. Greenberg, and Robert Pruzan, Chairman of the Jewish Museum's Board of Trustees
Sascha Greenberg, Corporate Honoree Evan G. Greenberg, Sandy Cozen, and Purim Ball 2018 Co-Chair Stephen Cozen
Cultural Honoree Alex Israel in costume
Darcie Crystal, Jewish Museum trustee Jonathan Crystal, and a performer Performers greeting guests
Jack Bankowsky, Jewish Museum associate curator Kelly Taxter, Cultural Honoree Alex Israel, and Andrea Israel
Jewish Museum trustee Nazee Moinian A masked guest
Michael Kramer, Riane Gruss, and Amber Rose Revah
Purim Ball After Party Co-Chairs Benjamin Wald and Nicole Pepperman Jewish Museum trustee Jacques Brand and Brian Schreiber
Jewish Museum trustees Amy Rose Silverman and Betty Levin with Marlene Barasch Strauss
New York City Comptroller Scott Stringer and Elyse Buxbaum, Deputy Director of Development, The Jewish Museum
Adam Sheffer and Candace Barasch William Mack and Jewish Museum trustee Phyllis Mack
Jill Roach, Stephanie Roach, and John Weiss
Catherine Klema and David Resnick, President of the Jewish Museum's Board of Trustees Gabi Asfour, Angela Donhauser, and Adi Gil
Laurie Simmons, Prem Krishnamurthy, and Jewish Museum trustee Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer
Laura Perlongo and Master of Ceremonies Nev Schulman Jewish Museum trustee Audrey Wilf and Zygi Wilf
Masked guests at The Jewish Museum's Purim Ball 2018
Jewish Museum trustee Shari Aronson Federica Marchionni
Members of Purim Ball After Party Committee
For one magic night, the Breakers Beach Club became the "chateau by the sea" of the American Friends of Blerancourt for their annual dinner in Palm Beach. Franck Laverdin, chairman of the Board, and Countess Dorothea de La Houssaye, president of AFB, hosted an international crowd to celebrate 240 years of the Franco-American alliance, the 100th anniversary of the WWI Victory and the tremendous dedication of Anne Morgan and her American lady friends who helped reconstruct Picardy in the aftermath of that terrible war. 
Dorothea de La Houssaye and Andrew Kotchoubey
To celebrate this unique Museum they were joined by the Consul General of France in Miami Clement Leclerc, Louise Stephaich, Henry and Carla Darlington, Miles Morgan, Jane Domerich and Peter Hill, the Duchess of Rutland, Phil Burtt, Dale Coudert, AFB founder Baroness didi d'Anglejan and John Browne, Elizabeth and Stanley Scott, Mary and Antony Underwood, Barbara marquesa Viuda de San Damian, Mai Hallingby Harrison, Jay Paul, Fern Tailer, Robin Reardon and Norman Nelson, Michael Kovner and Maria Roach, Irene Goodkind, Helmut Koller and Helga Wagner, Joan Khan, Barbara Cates and John Loring, Jennifer Guarrigues, Peter Behr and Wendy Randall, Patricia Lee and Dr. Bradford Lee, Cookie Donaldson, Marc Meadows, Allola McGraw.
Jane Dommerich Barbara Price and Gilbert Chanby
Jay Paul, Didi D'Anglejan, and Maj. Hon. John Browne
Dorothea de La Houssaye, Maria Roach, Claude Lourie, and Michael Kovner Ellis Parker and Nancy Parker
Edith Eglin and Gil Cohen
Countess Yolande De Bonvouloir and Sona Reese
Richard Carr and Irene Goodkind
Joan Rosasco, Mia Glickman, Henry Darlington, and Carla Darlington
Antony Underwood and Louise Stephaich Franck Laverdin and Joan Kahn
The Duchess of Rutland and Philip Burtt
Len Clark, Margaret MacKenzie, Joan Rosasco, and Marc Meadows
Patricia Lee, Dr. Bradford Lee, and Mssr. Clement Leclerc Mary Underwood
Jenny Garrigues, Jonathan Cameron Hayes, and Cris Briger
Robin Reardon and Reeder Fox
John Loring and Dorothy Slover Stanley and Elizabeth Scott
Rosalind Clark and Paul Gervais
Helmut Koller and Cooky Donaldson Miles Morgan and Elaine Leary
Katherine Palmer, Roswitha Rodrigues, and Hans Kertess
Roma Watkins Elaine Leary and Franck Laverdin
Allola McGraw and Ann Corwell
Walter Glennon and Donald Glickman
Mai Hallingby Harrison Penny and Tony Atkins
Photographs by, Sunny Norton, Aria Isadora/ (Purim Ball); Mike Jachles/ (AFB)