Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Nashville’s Swan Ball

Brian Smallwood, Swan Ball 2018 Chairs Patti Smallwood and Beth Alexander, and Dave Alexander
A Story of Champagne and the Stars dazzled guests at Nashville’s Swan Ball 2018 held on June 2nd on the Swan Lawn at Cheekwood. Led by Chairs Beth Alexander and Patti Smallwood, the 56th annual event continued its long legacy as one of the South’s most prestigious white-tie charity events benefitting Nashville’s most fabled botanical gardens and arts treasure, Cheekwood.

Founded by the late Jane Anderson Dudley, the Swan Ball is one of the nation’s oldest and most successful events.
Tables set for dinner under the tent
Rows of flower topiaries
Table settings under the tent
The cocktail lounge
The prestigious Swan Award was presented to author and humorist Julia Reed, master of the art of eating, drinking and making merry.” Headlining the Ball was GRAMMY Award-winning Boz Scaggs. Featured jeweler Temple St. Clair delighted guests with her rare colored gems with distinctive gold work illustrating universal narratives of the earth and cosmos. 

Kristen Winston Catering provided a culinary masterpiece. Dori Thornton Waller of The Social Office led planning and production and The Tulip Tree provided floral design.
Chairs Kathy Davis, Melissa Mahanes and Jill Talbert presented a lively auction, sponsored by Emily and Mark Humphreys. Among the lots available was a fully loaded C-300 4Matic generously donated by Mercedes-Benz of Music City.
Swan Ball 2018 Jeweler Temple St. Clair Swan Ball 2018 Swan Award recipient Julia Evans Reed
The Late Party brought together the younger Swan set, many second and third generation Swan Ball attendees.  Late Party Co-Chairs Amy Greathouse and Lyndsey Rollins indulged guests with a sumptuous meal from Monica Holmes’ Clean Plate Club. Jackson Durham Events oversaw design and production and dinner music was provided by Brassfield Aly.
David and Janice Eliott Morgan Swan Ball 2018 Chair Patti Smallwood with Rodes and Patrica Hart
Laura Niewold, Sylvia Bradbury, Lisa Manning, Melanie Baker, and Barbara Burns
Rob and Jennie McCabe Sandra and Larry Lipman
Laurie and Steve Eskind Annette Eskind with Jeff and Donna Eskind
John and Trevania Henderson Bill and Debi Tate
Dave Mahanes, Swan Ball 2018 Auction Chair Melissa Mahanes, Martin Davis, Swan Ball 2018 Auction Chair Kathy Davis, Daniel Talbert, and Swan Ball 2018 Auction Chair Jill Talbert
Emily and Mark Humphreys Sam Felker and Keith Little
David Manning, Emily Manning, and Lisa Manning
Jillian and John Frist with Dara Russell
Sallie and Bill Norton Barby and Govan White
Beth and Paul Moore
Bitsy and Wearen Hughes, John and Missy Eason, and Tricia and Ben Carswell
Donnie Newman, Laura Bearden, and Dana and John Atkins
Vicki and Rick Horne with Carol and Darryl Yochem
Greg and Barbara Burns with Cathy and Van East
Helen Bransford, Julia Reed, 2018 Swan Award recipient Julia Evans Reed, and Frances and Jimmy Spradley
Bob and Julie Haley with Doug Bradbury
Sandra and Larry Lipman with Ann and Tim Connor
Allison DeMarcus, Maggie Tucker, and Lyndsey Rollins
LaDonna Boyd and Hank Ingram
Tommy and Laura Landstreet, Lisa and John Campbell, and Trevania and John Henderson
Swan Ball Late Party Chair Lyndsey Rollins, Swan Ball Chair Beth Alexander, and Swan Ball Late Party Chair Amy Greathouse
Steven and Kate Ezell with Janet and Earl Bentz
Karen and Gene Fleming with Julie and Breck Walker
Julianne and Jeff Williams Amos Gott and Clare Armistead
Rob and Caroline McNeilly
Yvette Boyd and LaDonna Boyd
Fulton and Rita Mitchell Swan Ball 2018 Floral designer Mark O'Bryan and Monty Smith
Denise and Jeff Hopmayer with Richard and LaRawn Rhea
Donna and Jeffrey Eskind with Annette Eskind
Grace and Carl Awh
Swan Ball 2018 Dance Committee Chair Ann Ralls Niewold and Jerrod Brown
Late night snacks to go

Photographs by Alan Poizner, Susan Adcock, and Peyton Hoge