Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Symposiums, Luncheons, and Tribute Dinners

Stephanie Hessler, Laura Lofaro Freeman, Todd DeGarmo, Tracey Pontarelli, Peter Pennoyer, Elizabeth Graziolo, Elizabeth Miller, Whitney Donhauser, Nellie Gipson, Milla Kalcheva, Sylvia Hemingway at The Museum of the City of New York's annual Spring Symposium & Luncheon.
The Museum of the City of New York bestowed architect and designer Elizabeth Graziolo with its 2018 City of Design Award at the annual Spring Symposium & Luncheon on Monday, June 4.

The City of Design Award honors creative entrepreneurs who have made New York City the design capital of the world and who inspire future generations of designers to bring their talents to our great city. Past recipients have been Peter Marino, Jonathan Adler, Simon Doonan, Jacques Grange, and Ralph Pucci. Graziolo's outstanding career and contributions to New York City architecture make her an ideal recipient of this award.

Elizabeth Farran Tozer, founder of the Spring Symposium & Luncheon, served as Honorary Chair with co-chairs Todd DeGarmo, Laura Lofaro Freeman, Sylvia Hemingway, Stephanie Hessler, Elizabeth Kahane, Milla G. Kalcheva, Isabelle Trapnell Marino, Elizabeth R. Miller, Tracey R. Pontarelli, Kathy Prounis, and Monica Voldstad.
Elizabeth Graziolo speaks on "Candela's Legacy:Luxury Living in the 21st Century"
Elizabeth Graziolo, AIA, is a partner at Peter Pennoyer Architects, the award-winning New York–based architecture firm she joined in 1998. At PPA, Graziolo has directed a range of projects, both in the United States and abroad, including private houses and residential developments. Elizabeth has been responsible for renovations and reconstructions of townhouses and apartments in New York City, recently leading a team through the construction of 151 East 78th Street, a new 17-story condominium in the Upper East Side of Manhattan. Additional projects include new residences in Maine and Massachusetts, a luxury townhouse development on the Peak in Hong Kong, and a residential development in Dalian, China, for which she led the site master planning and the design and development of thirty-nine townhouses.
Elizabeth Graziolo, Whitney Donhauser, and Peter Pennoyer
Graziolo's work at PPA has been widely published in newspapers, books, and periodicals, including The Wall Street Journal, Architectural Digest, and Elle Decor. She is a member of the board of trustees of The Museum of the City of New York and serves on the Delano & Aldrich/Emerson Fellowship of the American Institute of Architects.

Founded in 1923 as a private, nonprofit corporation, the Museum of the City of New York celebrates and interprets the city, educating the public about its distinctive character, especially its heritage of diversity, opportunity, and perpetual transformation. The Museum connects the past, present, and future of New York City, and serves the people of the city as well as visitors from around the world through exhibitions, school and public programs, publications, and collections. For more information please visit www.mcny.org.
Isabelle Trapnell Marino Julie Richardson, Elizabeth Miller, and Zita Ezpeleta
Elizabeth Graziolo, Julia Dipietro, Natalia Oliver, Elizabeth O'Donnell, and Clara Pugsley
Tom Robinson, Gerry Holbrook, Margaret King, and Jim Hanley
Todd DeGarmo, Elizabeth Graziolo, and Peter Pennoyer
Erin Nalbandian and Stephanie Hessler Jennifer Langley and Kristie Pollon
Tom Nugent, Sandy Chung, and Lew Gleason
Evan Proach, Elizabeth Graziolo, Louise Barthel, and Yasmine Barthel
Laura Lofaro Freeman, Sylvia Hemingway, Todd DeGarmo, Whitney Donhauser, and Michael Sillerman
Lorna Goodman and Barbara Peabody Paola Bachinni Rosenshine, Sylvia Hemingway, and Gloria Fieldcamp
Diana Harding, Kelley Johnston, and Laura Lofaro Freeman
Gopa Dobson, Elizabeth Graziolo, Elizabeth McGeehee, Sylvia Hemingway, Maryanne Horwath, Leila Pinto, and Cathy Lerebours
Erin Nalbandian, Sheridan Vichie, Whitney Donhauser, and Stephanie Hessler
Dan Parker, Danielle Naftali, and Ali Bulman
Sarah Scott, Monet Fraser, Joanna Yap, Jane Park, and Mary Mauro
Donald Albrecht, Wendy Moonan, and Eric Repanshek
Lucinda May and Anne Walker Nellie Gipson and Isabel Pavau Horvath
Radost Panayotova, Hovan Echiova, and Milla Kalcheval
Ronay Menschel, Elizabeth Miller, Zita Ezpeleta, Julie Richardson, and Whitney Donhauser
Tana Dye, Nancy Sambucco, and Karen Klopp
Amelia Ogunlesi and Kamie Lightburn Rema Parachini and Katie Tozer
Lunch in the Museum of the City of New York's Rotunda
Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) hosted its 35th Tribute Dinner on Monday, June 4, 2018 at the American Museum of Natural History in Manhattan, raising $3.8 million for education, research and patient care. The gala honored Paul M. Pellicci, MD, chief emeritus of the hip service at HSS, and Senator William Bradley. Lawrence O'Donnell of MSNBC hosted the event which also featured a special performance by Jon Bon Jovi & Friends.
HSS hosted its 35th Tribute Dinner on Monday, June 4, 2018 at the American Museum of Natural History in Manhattan.
Dinner co-chairs Ellen Wright and Kathy Leventhal Sabrina Strickland, MD, with Andreas Gomoll, MD, both sports medicine surgeons at HSS.
Lawrence O'Donnell of MSNBC (host of the evening) with honorees Senator William Bradley and Paul M. Pellicci, MD, and entertainer Jon Bon Jovi.
Stephanie March, actress, with husband Dan Benton. Veronica Stigeler with husband Bill Cowher, former NFL coach.
Stephen O'Brien, MD, MBA with Jon Bon Jovi and Frank Cammisa, MD (sports medicine surgeon and spine surgeon, respectively, at HSS)
Dinner co-chairs Ellen Wright and Kathy Leventhal with Jon Bon Jovi, the night's performer. Mary Lee and Louis A. Shapiro, CEO and president of HSS.
Scott Perry, GM of the New York Knicks; Steve Mills, executive president of the Knicks; Willis Reed, former Knick; David Fizdale, head coach, Knicks; and Walt "Clyde" Frazier, former Knick.
Actor Peter Jacobson with Edwin Su, MD, hip and knee surgeon at HSS.
Pat Shurmur, head coach of the New York Giants, with wife Jennifer. Paul M. Pellicci, MD, honoree and chief emeritus of the hip service at HSS, with wife Virginia.
Matthew Johnston, Karen Su, MD, Patti LuPone and Edwin Su, MD, hip and knee surgeon at HSS.
Stephen O'Brien, MD, MBA, with Stacey Woolf-Feinberg.
Scott Rodeo, MD, (sports medicine surgeon at HSS) and Christine Rodeo, MD. Dinner co-chair Kathy Leventhal with husband Richard.
Twyla Tharp with Edwin Su, MD, (hip and knee surgeon at HSS) and Karen Su, MD.
David Altchek, MD, sports medicine surgeon at HSS and medical director of the New York Mets, with New York Mets starting pitcher Steven Matz.
Barbara and Todd Albert, MD, surgeon-in-chief at HSS. Lara Lerner, Kate Doerge and Monica Keany.
Samuel Taylor, MD, sports medicine surgeon at HSS, and wife Jennifer with Bryan Kelly, MD, chief of HSS Sports Medicine and wife Lois.
Katherine Pearle and Jenny Mollen with Jason Biggs and Andrew Pearle, MD, sports medicine surgeon at HSS.
Robert Hotchkiss, MD, hand and upper extremity surgeon at HSS, with wife Stephanie and Kathryn and Kenneth Chenault, former CEO of American Express.
Miriam and Roger Widmann, MD (chief of pediatric orthopedic surgery at HSS) with Mary Francina Golden and Kenneth Handal.
Dinner co-chairs Kathy Leventhal and Ellen Wright announce that this year's Gala raised $3.8 million.
Jon Bon Jovi entertains the crowd.
Honoree Senator William Bradley is joined on stage by his 1970s New York Knicks championship teammates Earl "The Pearl" Monroe, Walt "Clyde" Frazier, Willis Reed and Dick Barnett.
David Helfet, MD, chief emeritus of orthopedic trauma at HSS, presents Paul Pellicci, MD, chief emeritus of the hip service at HSS, with the Lifetime Achievement Award.