Friday, May 28, 2010

New York Dazzled

Looking towards the GW Bridge from the Hudson River Promenade. 8:45 PM. Photo: JH.
May 28, 2010. Yesterday in New York it was noticeably cooler and overcast implying rain which came in the early evening, but lightly.

Last night at Cipriani 42nd Street Latin Society dazzled New York with the El Museo 2010 Gala in which Oscar de la Renta presented a special Lifetime Achievement Award to Placido Domingo. A special Leadership Award also went to Tony Bechara who has been the museum’s long-serving board chairman, shepherding the organization from almost obscurity in the community, to the prominence it has today.

The evening was El Museo’s biggest gala, raising more than $1 million for the museum and attended by more than 600 from all over the world. Barbara Walters was supposed to be mistress of ceremonies but had withdrawn for medical reasons (well publicized by now, as it is). Mr. de la Renta who stepped in for her, read a very touching message that she had written, beginning with: “Dear Placido, Only an injured heart would keep me from being with you tonight ...”
Silent Auction items such as: Judith Ripka sterling silver & 18K yellow gold large cushion stone ring w/1 gold heart, light green jade, diamond weight .045ct. Value $1,200, minimum bid, $700; 18k white gold large pave Lola ring -- blue quartz, diamond weight .932ct. Value $4800, minimum bid, $2,900.
The table settings.
El Museo's 2010 Gala in full swing at Cipriani 42nd Street, honoring Placido Domingo.
The evening’s chairs were Yaz and Valentin Hernandez and Renee and Alvaro Domingo. The evening also recognized the dedication and achievements of El Museo’s outgoing executive director Julian Zugazagoitia.

Among the guests: Narciso Rodriguez, Angel Sanchez, Maria Cornejo, Moises de la Renta, Laura and Dick Parson, Estrellita and Dan Brodsky, Jackie Weld, Martha Bograd, Joan and John Jakobson, Claudia Cisneros, Christian Cota, Jane and Calvin Cafritzd, Barbaralee Diamonstein and Carl Spielvogel, Olga and Tony Duke,, Sabina Forbes, Eleanor and Michael Kennedy, Gillian and Sylvester Miniter, Alexandra Lebenthal and Jay Diamond, Liz and Jeff Peek, Mitzi Perdue. More pictures and details on Tuesday’s NYSD.
Co-chairs Yaz and Valentin Hernandez. Honoree Tony Bechara with Horacio and Dimity Giles de Milberg
Alvaro Domingo, Placido Domingo, and Oscar de la Renta.
Eleanora, Michael, and Anna Kennedy. Alexandra Lebenthal.
The New York Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children, the world's oldest child protection agency, hosted its spring benefit last night at Shang, the restaurant upstairs at the trendy Thompson LES hotel. As the cocktail party was a junior committee event, the crowd skewed younger, and many hung around for dinner after the party ended at 9:30 p.m. (Shang was offering a $45 prix fixe dinner, with $10 of each diner's bill being donated to NYSPCC).

Incorporated in 1875, NYSPCC looks out for abused and neglected children by providing counseling, legal, and educational services. It followed the founding, in 1866, of the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals when New Yorkers realized that children needed anti-cruelty laws just as much as animals.
Abby Vietor Sullivan and NYPSCC Board President David Stack. John Dalsheim and Alessandra Echeverria.
Today, NYSPCC works with social service providers and the New York City court system to prevent child abuse, neglect, and abandonment, and to help victims of such crimes recover.

Among the crowd: David Stack, Abby Vietor Sullivan, John Dalsheim, Jeffrey Caldwell, Tatiana Perkin, Tielman Van Vleck, Benner Ulrich, Adrian Ulrich, Sonia Sparolini, Samantha Woods, Alexandra and Kevin Wilson, Kim Grab, Teddy Schiff, Molly Malgieri, Carson Gray Elias, Daria de Koning, Simon Gerson, Kara Gerson, Bradley Mitchell, and Alison Twiss.

— SD for NYSD
Tatiana Perkin and Tielman Van Vleck. Benner and Adrian Ulrich.
Simon Gerson, Kara Gerson, and Bradley Mitchell.
Alessandra Echeverria and Sam Dangremond. Jeff Caldwell and Alexandra Pappas.
Carson Gray Elias and Daria de Koning. Bradley Mitchell and Alison Twiss.
Kim Grab, Teddy Schiff, and Molly Malgieri.
Sonia Sparolini and Samantha Woods. Alexandra and Kevin Wilson.
Enter your email address below to subscribe to NYSD's newsletter. It's free!

Photographs by DPC and SD
Comments? Contact DPC here.