“Bejeweled” at The Frick Collection Young Fellows Ball 2023

Featured image
Savannah Engel, Event Chairmen Wes Gordon and Ivy Getty, Charlotte Groeneveld, Event Chairmen Paul Arnhold and Indré Rockefeller, Elise Taylor, Lilah Ramzi, and Elizabeth Kurpis at The Frick Collection's Young Fellows Ball 2023: “Bejeweled.”

Each spring, supporters of The Frick Collection and their guests look forward to the annual Young Fellows Ball, the museum’s highly anticipated benefit event.

This year’s event took place on Thursday, March 30, in partnership with Irene Neuwirth, with additional support from Tito’s Handmade Vodka, Catena Zapata, De Soi, Desolas Mezcal, Old Overholt, and Quinn Rosé. For the second year, the Ball was held at Frick Madison, the museum’s temporary home located in Marcel Breuer’s iconic modernist building on the Upper East Side.

Pinch Food Design created the yummy (and picture perfect) finger food …

And let’s not forget the libations, provided by Desolas Mezcal, Old Overholt, Tito’s Handmade Vodka, Quinn Rosé, and Catena Zapata.

Guests enjoyed a night of art and music along with themed refreshments and hors d’oeuvres and a unique “Step into a Fragonard” photo experience. With special talks and access to the galleries, they were able to experience the Frick’s masterpieces reframed at Frick Madison, a once-in-a-lifetime temporary presentation featuring collection highlights by celebrated artists such as Bellini, Degas, Fragonard, Gainsborough, Ingres, Rembrandt, Titian, Van Dyck, and Veronese.

Lathan Hall, Alexander Hankin, and Elise Taylor stepping into a Fragonard.
Max Lust and Melody Clarke.
L. to r.: Event Chairman Indré Rockefeller and Charlotte Groeneveld; Nana Agyemang, Samantha Sorbaro, Kam Chauhan, and Sydney Levin-Epstein.
Guests attend a gallery talks at Frick Madison during the Young Fellows Ball.

The Ball’s theme this year, “Bejeweled,” was inspired by the current special exhibition at Frick Madison, The Gregory Gift. The show presents twenty-eight remarkable works of fine and decorative art recently bequeathed to the museum by collector and publisher Alexis Gregory. These eclectic objects, many whimsical in nature, shimmer with gilded surfaces and gemstone accents.

Paul Arnhold, Drew Garrison, Ivy Getty, Wes Gordon, Louisa Jacobson, and Indré Rockefeller served as Chairmen. Irene Neuwirth was the evening’s Honorary Chairman.

Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Director Ian Wardropper, Honorary Chairman Irene Neuwirth, and John Grisham.

Guests included Bosilika An, Paul Arnhold, Jeremy Batoff, Marie-Laure Buku Pongo, Eaddy Kiernan Bunzel, Angie Calderwood, Giulio Dalvit, John Grisham, Mercedes de Guardiola, Allison Ecung, Jacqueline Elfe, Drew Garrison, Ivy Getty, Wes Godon, Alexandra Gray, Alexander Hankin, Fiona Hilton, Louisa Jacobson, Casey Kohlberg, Elizabeth Kurpis, Stirling Larkin, Brian Lei, Teresa Lin, Bach Mai, Araminta Mellon, Harlan Minor, Irene Neuwirth, Arielle Patrick, Indré Rockefeller, Anita Saggurti, Ian Wardropper, and Blaike Young.

Proceeds from the Young Fellows Ball provide essential support for the Frick’s many activities, including the programs of the Frick Art Reference Library and the Education Department, which serves students from New York City public schools in all five boroughs as well as digital audiences around the country and the world.

Alexander Tan, Marshall Snook, Carly Mellos, Blaike Young, Ryan Rafeh, Helena Belloff, and Daniel Wedman.

For more than twenty years, the Young Fellows have helped to ensure that The Frick Collection remains a singular museum experience. The contributions of the Young Fellows support the conservation of the permanent collection, its presentation at Frick Madison, the organization of new special exhibitions and installations, and the museum and library’s world-class public programming. Throughout the year, the young art enthusiasts who make up the Young Fellows enjoy social and educational events and behind-the-scenes access to the Frick.

L. to r.: Event Chairmen Paul Arnhold and Ivy Getty with Timo Weiland; Katie Sands.
Jocelyn Idriss.
L. to r.: Dana-Marie Bullock, Danny Galvin, and Maya Smoot; Event Chairman Louisa Jacobson.
L. to r.: Charlotte Groeneveld; Lilah Ramzi.
Madeleine Haddon, Arielle Patrick, and Lane Florsheim.
L. to r.: Event Chairman Indré Rockefeller; Serena Kerrigan and Charles Gross.
Edythe Hughes and Michael Espiritu.
L. to r.: Jessica Carroccio and Corrina Drost; Bach Mai.
Erin Hernandez, Jerry Fenn, and Tyler and Elizabeth Hall.
L. to r.: Elizabeth Kurpis and Elise Taylor; Head of Marketing Alexis Light.
Maggie Morse, Gabrielle Bird-Vogel, Lily Rivkin, and Jack Friend.
L. to r.: Josh Glikin and Alexandra Gray; Arielle Patrick.
Erica Pishdadian, Casey Kohlberg, and Adrien Lesser.
Assistant Curator of Sculpture Giulio Dalvit, Wolf Burchard, Assistant Curator of Decorative Arts Marie-Laure Buku Pongo, and William Rosenberg.
L. to r.: Mercedes de Guardiola and Kevin Brotman; Ian Samuels and Arielle Gross Samuels.
David Alexander Jenkins and Allison Ecung.
Jeremy Batoff and Eric Goldie.
L. to r.: Jacqueline Elfe; Araminta Mellon and Mia Goldstein.
Delia Folk, Helen Scott Ching, Nicole Veno, and Michelangelo Nanez.
Music by Angel + Dren.
The Bejeweled crowd at Frick Madison.

Photographs by Matteo Prandoni/BFA.com & George Koelle

Recent Posts