Event Calendar

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press – Virtual 50th Anniversary and Press Freedom Awards

September 28, 2021 @ 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM


First Amendment Awardees:
J. Scott Applewhite, The Associated Press
Theodore J. Boutrous, Jr., Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Julie K. Brown, Investigative Reporter , Miami Herald
Amal Clooney, Co-Founder and President, Clooney Foundation for Justice
Jane Mayer, Staff Writer and Chief Washington Correspondent, The New Yorker

Fred Graham Distinguished Service Award:
Tony Mauro, Contributor at ALM Media Properties, LLC
Saundra Torry, Retired Member of USA TODAY’S Editorial Board

Rising Star Award, Laura Moscoso, Data Journalist, Centro de Periodismo Investigativo

Dinner Chairs
Amanda Bennett; Donald E. Graham, Chairman, Graham Holdings; Norman Pearlstine; Brad Smith, President, Microsoft; and Steven R. Swartz, President & CEO, Hearst

For 50 years, the Reporters Committee has been a national leader in First Amendment law and advocacy and today stands as the leading organization in the country providing pro bono legal support to journalists. With a rapidly changing media landscape and an increase in anti-press rhetoric encouraging litigation against news outlets, the arrest of reporters, and even violence against the media, the Reporters Committee’s work is more important than ever. Its attorneys represent journalists, news organizations and documentary filmmakers in all types of litigation, ranging from access to courts and freedom of information, to reporter’s privilege and libel defense. RCFP also takes the lead in building media coalitions to file amicus briefs in significant First Amendment cases and on legislative and policy initiatives that may affect press freedom.


September 28, 2021
8:00 PM - 9:00 PM


Inez Weinstein Special Events, Inc.