Elizabeth Segerstrom hosts ABT’s Love and Rage Premiere in Costa Mesa, CA

Featured image

Last week out on the Pacific Coast, Elizabeth Segerstrom and South Coast Plaza were hosts to a private dinner celebrating American Ballet Theater’s new production by Alexei Ratmansky, Of Love and Rage, which debuted at the Segerstrom Center for the Arts in Orange County.

Thousands of bowers of white flowers, Petrosian caviar, and Don Perignon champagne greeted guests on their arrival. During cocktails, Mrs. Segerstrom, wearing an Oscar de la Renta gown embroidered with flowers, welcomed guests with artist  in residence Alexei Ratmansky, and ABT’s artistic director Kevin McKenzie, who commented: “This is a beautiful theater and the dancers love being here every year.” In a short speech, the new director of the Segerstrom Center, Casey Reitz, officially welcomed guests.

“Alexei is a genius and I feel blessed to be part of his project,” Elizabeth told friends. “And we hope he will feel this is his home away from home.  This beautiful ballet is a bit risqué and I’ll tell him more about this in Russian later.” She continued, “I’m also extremely proud of our Judy Morr who has helped build a sophisticated audience here for ballet.”

Elizabeth Segerstrom.

Many New Yorkers made a special trip to California for this evening including Joanna Fisher, Kip Forbes, Yue Sai Kan, David Lansky, Jonathan Marder and the many members of the ABT Company.  They were joined by an elegant local contingent including Caroline Graham, Lyn Rothman, Nigel Lythgoe, Anton and Jennifer Segerstrom to name just a few.

Segerstrom Center for the Arts is the winter home of ABT and Mrs. Segerstrom is the lead underwriter for this new production that will premiere in New York at The Metropolitan Opera on June 2, 2020.

Cynthia Jabour and Diane Lantello.
Chip Conlan, Elizabeth Segerstrom, and Nigel Lythgoe.
Chris Gialanella and Andrea Gialanella.
L. to r.: ABT Soloist Cassandra Trenary; Alexei and Tatiana Ratmansky.
Ed Bacher and Gloria Brandis.
Ellen Olivier and Pamela Banks.
Hao Yan, Finian Tan, and Kevin Chen.
Jack Corwin, Ania Macomber, and Craig Macomber.
Kevin McKenzie, Judy Morr, and David Lansky.
L. to r.: Nigel Lythgoe, Elizabeth Segerstrom, and Kip Forbes; Casey Reitz and Naomi Reitz.
Kasia Mays, Fiona Cibani, Nicole Mather, and Isabella Chan.
Lucas Barwinski-Brown, Nigel Lythgoe, and Sabina Gerjatowicz.
L. to r.: Joanna Fisher and Lucas Barwinski-Brown; Lyn Rothman.
Mark Mandell, Emilia Mandell, Diane Lantello, and Cynthia Jabour.
Sue Devine and Peter McDowell.
L. to r.: James Whiteside; Frederic Golchan.
Sue Devine, Mark Mandell, and Emilia Mandell.
Nicole Mather and Kasia Mays.
Valerie Cooper and Harry Cooper.
Yue-Sai Kan and Lisa Wang.
Hao Yan and T.K. Pen.
Matthew Pollock, Clayton Straker, Blake Carr, Deborah Keillor, Andrew Biernat, Christoph Leitner, and Filip Kubica.

Photographs by Presley Ann and David Crotty for PMC/Getty

Recent Posts