French American Aid, Afterschool Development, and Food Heroes

Featured image
FAAFC Past-Presidents: Diane Ackerman, Coralie Charriol, Catherine Chappell, Ghislaine Somnolet, Marguerite Mangin, and Dennis Paul at French American Aid For Children's Spring Fete.

French American Aid For Children (FAAFC) held its Spring Fete on April 29th, 2019 at the Loeb Boathouse in Central Park. FAAFC celebrated its 80th anniversary and REACT to FILM its 10th anniversary.

Coralie Charriol Paul (Chairperson of Charriol jewelry company) was honored for her work with the nonprofit, REACT to FILM that she co-founded with her husband Dennis Paul. REACT to FILM develops custom designed curriculum that educates and promotes social responsibility through documentary films. To date, over 10,000 students nationwide have benefited from course offerings covering a broad spectrum of social issues.

The Boathouse Lake Room.

Cocktails by the lake, dinner-dance and an auction led by Adrien Meyer, Co-Chairman of Christie’s Auction House were some of the highlights of the evening.

The “Children Come First” award was presented to Coralie Charriol Paul by Princess Marie Chantal of Greece. The award is given to an individual who embodies the spirit of FAAFC’s mission and has engaged in meaningful initiatives that improve children’s lives. Francesca Dricot and Wendy C. Weiler were co-chairs of the event.

Auctionneer Adrien Meyer.
Coralie Charriol Paul and Princess Marie-Chantal of Greece.

French American Aid For Children’s mission is to assist vulnerable children facing potential abuse, or a lack of healthcare or the means to an education.  FAAFC identifies programs administered by French and American children’s charities that are experienced in seeking solutions to resolve these issues.

Today’s youth face numerous challenges and FAAFC is committed to providing support for programs directly targeting these areas of vital concern.

Jeremy Kohomban, The Children’s Village, President and CEO, Marguerite Mangin, FAAFC, President and Daniel Quintero, Kips Bay Boys & Girls Club, Executive Director.
L. to r.: Celine Merle and Rod Lester; L. Fiske and Michelle Warren.
Ron Romaine, Liane McAllister, and Donald and Maureen McAllister.
Annick Charriol, Pascale Gallais-Oribe, and Dr. Emilio Oribe.
FAAFC Event Co-Chair, Wendy C. Weiler, Coralie Charriol Paul, Marguerite Mangin, and Francesca Dricot.
L. to r.: Marguerite Mangin and Coralie Charriol Paul; Valentin Degrange and Claire Tetart.
Laurie Stanziale, Andrew Krinsky, Francesca Dricot, and Arthur Harris.
Franz Folz, Simel Gokkaya, Kevin Richards, Janna Bullock, and Carmen Darie.
Lili Siegelson, Nicole Salmasi, and George Mickum.
Dennis Paul, Palmer O’Sullivan, Coralie Charriol Paul, Natasha de Mallman, Felicity and Shawn Ng.
Amanda Waldron and Katherine Kwei.
Jean-Hugues and Veronique Monier and friends.
Steven Hazarian, Caroline Chappell Hazarian, Donald Chappell, and Wendy C. Weiler.
Lester Lanin Orchestra.

The All Stars Project, Inc. (ASP), a national nonprofit that sponsors afterschool development programs to help inner-city youth and their families create success in their lives, raised $2.1 million at its annual Gala, “Performance Lives! People Grow!” at Lincoln Center on May 6 to support the ASP’s work nationwide as a leader and innovator in Afterschool Development, using the power of performance to transform the lives of youth and poor communities.

Executive Producer/MTV Host Sway Calloway was the special guest host for the Gala. Calloway has toured the All Stars’ 42nd Street national headquarters and supports its programs.

All Stars board member Amy Doyle of MTV, youth host Juanita Aboagye, executive producer/MTV Host Sway Calloway, actor Nick Cannon and All Stars president and CEO Gabrielle Kurlander.

Artist/MTV Talent Justina Valentine performed alongside youth at the benefit.  Actor Nick Cannon, Peppermint, Alexis Michelle, Milk, Carson Kressley and others from RuPaul’s Drag Race and World of Wonder, along with NBA legend Sam Perkins came in support of All Stars’ work in New York City, Newark, Jersey City, Dallas, Chicago and San Francisco.

The All Stars honored Viacom and Chris McCarthy of MTV, VH1, CMT and Logo, Colleen O’Neill of EY, Derek DiRisio of PSEG Services Corporation, and Rose Lavandero of TM Financial Forensics LLC. They are champions of inner-city youth who have made a deep impact in New York, New Jersey, and nationwide.  Additionally, the All Stars presented an Honorary Doctorate of Development to Kwame Anthony Appiah, Ph.D., Professor of Philosophy and Law at NYU for his innovative work on identity and cosmopolitanism.

Cast members from RuPaul’s Drag Race and World of Wonder grab a selfie with All Stars Project president and CEO Gabrielle Kurlander (3rd from right) and MTV, VH1, CMT and Logo president Chris McCarthy (5th from right).
Artist and MTV Talent Justina Valentine and ASP of Dallas City Leader Antoine Joyce.
L. to r.: Alexis Michelle and Carson Kressley; ASP co-founder Lenora Fulani, Ph.D., presents honorary Doctorate of Development degree to Kwame Anthony Appiah, Ph.D. of New York University.
Youth host Ivoryona Williams, honoree Chris McCarthy, president of MTV, VH1, CMT and Logo with All Stars board member Amy Doyle of MTV.
Dwayne Dixon and Gabrielle Kurlander of ASP, Derek DiRisio and Ralph Izzo of PSEG, and Gloria Strickland.
NBA legend Sam Perkins backstage with E. Stratton Horres, Jr. and youth performers.
Kate Barton of EY; ASP board chair Maria Morris; ASP president and CEO Gabrielle Kurlander; and Margo Cook of Nuveen.
ASP of New Jersey City Leader Shadae McDaniel; Sapphaire Taylor; honoree Rose Lavandero of TM Financial Forensics; Brittany Sheppard; honoree Derek DiRisio of PSEG; Jessica Maia; honoree Collen O’Neill of EY; Najla Sims; and ASP Director of Development Jenny Zak.

On Thursday, April 25, 2019 Spoons Across America hosted its 5th Annual Spring Benefit: Food Heroes, which was an awe-inspiring evening that celebrated the best of the culinary world, and supported children’s food literacy education.   The Benefit was chaired by Jeff Bank, Katherine Gage Boulud, and Olga D’Alto, three individuals who are deeply committed to improving children’s relationship with food.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of Spoons Across America’s Award for Excellence to José Andrés, by our National Spokesperson, Jacques Pépin (the first recipient of our Award for Excellence) to thunderous applause.  José was honored for his work to improve health, education, jobs, and social enterprise across the world is dedicated to “food exploration” and is committed to children’s food literacy education.

Jeff Bank and Katherine Boulud.

Spoons also presented the second Julia V. Jordan Award for Volunteerism to Diane Harris Brown, former Director of Educational and Community Programming, James Beard Foundation, for her work to ensure that children of all backgrounds receive the tools they need to live healthy and successful lives.

Culinary luminaries like Alain Sailhac, André SoltnerDaniel Boulud, Éric RipertAndrew Zimmern, and Bill Yosses enthusiastically celebrated our honorees.

To learn more about Spoons Across America, visit

Jose Andres and Diane Harris Brown.
Daniel Boulud, Patricia Andres, Kaatherine Boulud, and Jose Andres.
Andrew Zimmern, Daniel Boulud, Eric Ripert, Jose Andres, Jacques Pepin, Alain Sailhac, and Bill Yosses.
Eric Ripert, Jose Andres, Patricia Andres, Jacques Pepin, and Daniel Boulud.
Olga D’Alto, Mindee Blanco, Daniel Boulud, Jeff Bank, and Courtney Armour.
Diane Harris Brown and Jared Brown.
Andrew Zimmern, Katherine Boulud, and Jacques Pepin.
Susan Magrino and Susan Ungaro.
Jose Andres, Andrew Zimmern, Rita Jammet, and Eric Ripert.

Photographs by Ronald L. Glassman (All Stars Project); Annie Watt (Spoons Across Am)

Recent Posts