Frolicking at the Frick Collection’s annual Spring Garden Party

Featured image
Guests in the Fifth Avenue Garden at The Frick Collection's Spring Garden Party.

Wednesday, June 5, 2019. A beautiful sunny day, 70 degrees, yesterday in New York.

One week ago on this day, 750 guests attended the Frick Collection’s annual Spring Garden Party for Fellows and Young Fellows. This year’s even was also celebrating the opening of Elective Affinities: Edmund de Waal at the Frick Collection.

Mr. de Waal is famous to millions of readers for his brilliant family biography, The Hare With Amber Eyes, but he is also acclaimed as ceramicist throughout the world for his site-specific works made of porcelain, steel, gold, alabaster and glass.  These awill be displayed in the museum’s main galleries alongside works from its permanent collection. This project and installation is the first of its kind in this country and the first such installation for the Frick. The installation will be on view as a temporary installation through November 17th.

Edmund de Waal, Curator of Decorative Arts Charlotte Vignon, and Board of Trustees Chairman Betty Eveillard.

Guests arrived in all matter of festive Spring attire – bright whites, bold colors and floral patterns. This annual party is usually held on the front lawn of the museum, overlooking Central Park, but the rainfall that night brought the guests into the Frick to gather in the Garden Court with its bounty of pink and white azaleas, orange bromeliads, and birds nest ferns, as well as arrangements featuring blue hyacinths,Veronica peonies, blue and purple clematis, and mini white roses throughout. Before the party was over, however, skies finally cleared and in the last hour and a half there was the opportunity (taken) by many of the guests to have their final nightcap under the stars.

Guests in the Garden Court.
Guests in the West Gallery.
Guests in the Fifth Avenue Garden.

Guests also had the opportunity to visit the permanent collection as well as the rarely seen second floor of the former Frick mansion, which was open on this special evening. Guests were also entertained by the music of the jazz quartet The Flail as well as the music of DJ Unos and Dubs. Fabulous hors d’oeuvres  including Caviar cannoli, lobster tart, green falafel and copress cucumber, chicken and pecan quesadilla, kale pancetta and grape pizza, gruyere grilled cheese and spring rolls. Cocktails were courtesy of the event sponsor Tito’s Handmade Vodka which also provided Rosé by Hampton Water Wine Co., and sparkling wine by Ferrari Trento.

Sparkling wine by Ferrari Trento and libations provided by Tito’s Handmade Vodka.
Catering by Creative Edge Parties.

Among those in attendance were the Collection’s Director Ian Wardropper, Helen Clay Chace, Bett and Jean-Marie Eveillard, Christian Keesee and Larry Keigwin, Amory and Sean McAndrew, Sana Babbagh, Paul Arnhold and Wes Gordon; Page Ashley, Ayesha Bulchandani, Dr. Tai-Hen Cheng and Cole Harrell, Emily T. Frick, Caroline and Charles Joyce, Elizabeth and Jon Kurpis, Casey Kohlberg, Lucy Lang and Scott Asher, Victoria Smith, Davide Stefanacci and Ronnie WestGeorgina Bloomberg, Karaugh Brown, Lili Buffett, Margaret Civetta, Jerry Ann Woodfin Costa and Victor Costa, Barbara and Brad Evans, Sarah Flint, Marina Kellen French, Steve and Luz-Mary Harris, Deborah and Chuck Royce, Mrs. William Nitze, Annabelle Selldorf, Tom Wheeler, Bryan and Megan Ramm, Emma Kate Lasry, Barbara Dau and Barton English, Mercedes de Guardiola, Richard Huber, Barbara Reuter and William Williams Jr., Rochelle and Mark Rosenberg, Eiko and Michael Assael, Xavier Soloman and scores more enjoying the always wonderful Frick evening.

Trustee Victoria Smith, Trustee Ayesha Bulchandani, Lucy Lang, Curator of Decorative Arts Charlotte Vignon, Edmund de Waal, Peter Jay Sharp Chief Curator Xavier F. Salomon, Board of Trustees Chairman Betty Eveillard, Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Director Ian Wardropper.
Trustee Victoria Smith and guests.
Guests arriving in the Reception Hall.
Elisa Gaede, Christy Coombs, Alexandra Kelly and Caitlyn Pickens.
Fainan Lakha, Assistant Museum Educator for School Programs Rachel Himes, Associate Museum Educator for College and Programs Caitlin Henningsen, Russell Rennie, Assistant Museum Educator for Partnership Programs Vincent Tolentino and Nadia Bovy.
L. to r.: Helen Freeman, Executive Assistant to the Director Blanca Del Castillo, and Chief of Public Services Suz Massen; Daniele Nikolova and Friederike Moltmann.
Robert Blumenfeld and Curator of Decorative Arts Charlotte Vignon.
Anastasia Adruzova, Delia Folk, Edward Barnes, Alexandra Bell, Karl Yeh and Laura Day Webb.
Carol Vogel, Samia Saouma, Edmund de Waal, Sana Sabbagh and Ann Nitze.
L. to r.: Nelson Meehan and Conrad Voldstad; Jerry Ann Woodfin-Costa and Victor Costa.
Matthew de Waal, Susan Chandler and Edmund de Waal.
Susannah Otter and Alex Gamble.
Marina Kellen French, Edmund de Waal and Lucinda Herrick.
L. to r.: James Fenton and Curator of Decorative Arts Charlotte Vignon; Deputy Director for External Affairs Tia Chapman and Joanna Massey.
Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Director Ian Wardropper and Marina Kellen French.
L. to r.: Avishan Bodjnoud; Elizabeth Kurpis.
Paul Saenger and guest.
Meredith Martin, Lucy Lang, Megan Ramm, Amory McAndrew and Scott Asher.
L. to r.: Robert Goodfellow, Marc Lewinstein and Matthew Kelleher; Trustee Chuck Royce and Deborah Royce.
Peter Kosovsky and Gertrude Kosovsky.
Evangelos Semoglou, Diana Heldfond and Diane Morris.
L. to r.: Wes Gordon and Paul Arnhold; Alyson Cafiero.
Trustee Tai-Heng Cheng, Tina Harrell and Cole Harrell.
L. to r.: Olga Sorokina and Polina Proshkina; Laura Coraci and Jeph Tausig.
Patrice Levande, Mark Levande, Associate Curator Aimee Ng and Simon Lewis.
Bruce Vanyo and Rebecca Vanyo.
L. to r.: Darren Judy and Emily Zhang; Nora Mazur and Midge Palley.
Elisa Gaede, Jeremiah Evarts and Christy Coombs.
Charlotte Kohlberg, Casey Kohlberg and Maddy Kohlberg.
L. to r.: Katie Sands; Jacqueline Wolff and Victoria Spagnola.
Sara Lopergolo and Annabelle Selldorf.
Joseph Weber and Raquelle Lynn.
L. to r.: Alexander Partridge and Curatorial Assistant Geoffrey Ripert; Senior Manager of Media Relations and Marketing Alexis Light and Peter Jay Sharp Chief Curator.
Hilda and Arnold Neis with J. Barclay Collins.
Jennifer Wright and Guy de Lotbiniere.
L. to r.: Luis E. Hill; Courtney Hytower and Gloria Zhang.
Lili Buffett, Paul Arnhold, Georgina Bloomberg and Wes Gordon.
Alexandra Bell and Karl Yeh.
Meredith Creighton, Mercedes de Guardiola, Kyle Wellner and Kevin Brotman.
L. to r.: Joey Bond, Whitney Carillon, Angel Zheng and Jung Moon; Bridget Marks and Philip Isles.
Chris Almeida, Sarena Ehrlich, Bibi Lewandowska and Monika McLennan.
L. to r.: Marianna Virzi and Brianna Meighan; Jason and Hyewon Miller.
Casey Kohlberg, Laura Day Webb, Guest, Delia Folk and Associate Director for Individual Giving Karaugh Brown.
L. to r.: Trustee Ayesha Bulchandani and Abha Sawhney; Robert Brandon Evans and Billie Sunday Banks.
Senior Curator Susan Grace Galassi and Isabel Slokar.
L. to r.: Livia Cheung; Associate Director for Media Relations and Marketing Heidi Rosenau.
Justin Morin-Carpentier, Ellen McGrath, Jennifer Lyden and Black Funston.
L. to r.: Tijana Ibrahimovic; Rose-Marie Reardon and Patricia Hedlund.
Ross Alexander and Andres Perea-Garzon.
Barry Stedman, Edmund de Waal and Christopher Riggio.

Photographs by Samantha Nandez/ & Christine A. Butler.

Recent Posts