Let’s Face the Music and Dance!

Featured image
Gala Co-Chair and Philharmonic Board Member Mary Wallach, Philharmonic Board Member Oscar Schafer, Gala Co-Chair Kristen Klabin, Didi Schafer, Gala Co-Chair and Philharmonic Board Member Alexander Klabin, and Laura Baum at the New York Philharmonic's annual Spring Gala.

This past Wednesday night at New York City’s Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center, the New York Philharmonic celebrated its annual Spring Gala in an evening that brought the magic of the movies to life. Conductor and composer David Newman returned to lead the Orchestra in iconic selections from Disney’s Fantasia and Fantasia 2000, including Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 and Symphony No. 6, Pastoral, Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker Suite, Stravinsky’s The Firebird Suite, Elgar’s Pomp and Circumstance, and, of course, Dukas’s The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. The Gala Co-Chairs were Kristen and Alexander Klabin, James L. and Margo M. Nederlander, and Mary Wallach.

David Newman conducts the New York Philharmonic in selections from Fantasia and Fantasia 2000.
David Newman conducts the New York Philharmonic in selections from Fantasia and Fantasia 2000.

The evening began with a reception in the Och Foyer of Alice Tully Hall, with vibrantly colored flowers splashed across a green hedge backdrop. After the concert, Gala attendees enjoyed a seated dinner in the Morgan Stanley Lobby, where the tables were adorned with floral patterned tablecloths and flower arrangements with a similar color palette to those from the reception.

Décor by Van Vliet & Trap.
Co-Chairman of the Board Peter May.

Philharmonic Board Co-Chairman Peter May and Deborah Borda, the Philharmonic’s Linda and Mitch Hart President & CEO, welcomed the 160 guests, acknowledged the talents and hard work of conductor David Newman and Philharmonic musicians, and thanked Philharmonic Board members and donors for their unflagging support of the Orchestra during the pandemic.

The event raised more than $640,000 for the New York Philharmonic.

L. to r.: New York Philharmonic Spring Gala Co-Chairs Kristen and Alexander Klabin; Gabriela Peña Fraga and Franklin Ramirez.
Board Member Oscar Schafer, Gala Co-Chair Kristen Klabin, Board Member Alec Baldwin and Hilaria Baldwin, Miss New York 2021 Sydney Park, and Tom Murro.
L. to r.: Brian Drost and Lawrence Milstein; Ty Johnson and Krystal Bick.
Maria Paliou, McCartney Wilkins, Gala Co-Chair Kristen Klabin, Sarabeth Smith, and Julia Goodman.
L. to r.: Chip and Amanda Brainerd; Roger and Patricia Silverstein.
Violists Leah Ferguson and Katherine Greene, English horn / oboe Ryan Roberts, bass trombonist George Curran, and Associate Principal Flute Alison Fierst.
L. to r.: Stuart Johnson and Barbara Ehrlich; Lisa Cali and Board Member Guenther Greiner.
Edgar and Ellie Cullman, Andrea Press, Board Member Susan Rose, and Joel Press.
Gala Co-Chairs Mary Wallach, with Alexander and Kristen Klabin.
Didi Schafer and Board Member Oscar Schafer, Board Member and Co-Chair Alexander Klabin, and Kristen Klabin.
Board Members Guenther Greiner and Carol Schaefer.
Arielle Patrick and her father Alvin Patrick.
Marilyn Skony Stamm, with Allan and Leah Rabinowitz.
Julia Goodman and McCartney Wilkins.
Slade Mills and Board Member Phyllis Mills, and their grandson Nicolas LeMaire.
Valerie Paley and Deborah Gelston.
Clockwise starting top left: Board Member Alec Baldwin, New York Philharmonic Linda and Mitch Hart President & CEO Deborah Borda, conductor David Newman, and his wife Krystyna Newman.
Muna and Basem Hishmeh.
Board Member Peter Gross and Melanie Scholl.
New York Philharmonic violist Katherine Greene and Board Member Ronald Ulrich.

Over one hundred members and guests of the Saint Andrew’s Society of the State of New York gathered on April 7th to salute National Tartan Day, a North American celebration of Scottish heritage and the focus of week-long festivities in New York City.

David Murphy, President of the Saint Andrew’s Society, welcomed the gathering with toasts, and he introduced attendees from across the United States and Great Britain.

Kyle Dawson, President of the National Tartan Day New York Committee, Brian Cox CBE, and Howie Nicholsby.

The Saint Andrew’s Society is a founding member of the National Tartan Day New York Committee, which honored Brian Cox CBE, a well-known Scottish actor, for his many contributions to Tartan Week and the Scottish Community. Kyle Dawson, President of NTDNYC introduced Mr. Cox and presented his award.

Other special guests included Rory Hedderly, Deputy Head of the Scottish Government in the USA, John Primrose, Deputy Director of The Scottish Government, Philip Long, Chief Executive of the National Trust for Scotland, Howie Nicholsby, creator and director of 21st Century Kilts, and Gary Maclean, the 265th SASNY Mark Twain Award recipient.

Richard Porter 1st Vice President of the Saint Andrew’s Society, Brian Cox, and David M. Murphy, 103rd President of the Saint Andrew’s Society.
Dougal Munro, Alexandra MacLennan, Gary Maclean, and Lesley MacLennan Denninger.
Howie Nicholsby, Nicole Ansari-Cox, Brian Cox, and Charlie Nicholsby.
L. to r.: Rory Hedderly and David Murphy; Rev. Dr. Thomas Evans and Wendy Evans.
Richard Porter, Jeanne Porter, Matt Saha, and Brian Cox.
Dr. Douglas Roth, Robert W. Ker III, John Blankley, and Dr. Doreen L. Wray Roth.
Henry Lafayette Collins III and Pauline Hunter of Hunterston.
Samuel F Abernethy, Josephine Campbell Dobkin, Dougal Munro, and Anne Hall Elser.
John Primrose, Lolita K. Jackson MBE, and Iain Ritchie.
John Blankley, Annie Campbell Long, Brent MacDonald, and Philip Long OBE.

Two Mondays ago at the Ziegfeld Ballroom, the National Dance Institute held its 46th Annual Gala, raising over $1.5 million to support its award-winning arts education programs that reach 60,000 children every year. The event featured performances by children from New York City public schools who benefit from NDI’s arts education programs.

Children from New York City public schools perform at NDI’s 46th Annual Gala.

NDI celebrated Tony Award-winning actor Brian Stokes Mitchell as Artistic Honoree; Ellen Weinstein, NDI’s Artistic Director Emerita was honored with the Susan Newhouse Dream Maker Award; and Carlos Rodriguez, CEO of ADP, was the Corporate Honoree.  NDI has impacted more than two million children worldwide through its programming since Jacques d’Amboise founded the organization in 1976.

Alec and Hilaria Baldwin.
Kay Gayner, NDI Artistic Director, and Frank Wood.
Allyson Tucker; Brian Stokes Mitchell, Artistic Honoree; Ellen Weinstein, NDI Artistic Director Emerita, and recipient of Susan Newhouse Dream Maker Award; Edith Hoffmann; Charlotte d’Amboise; and Rachel Bay Jones.
Sarafina Belafonte, NDI Alum, and Malena Belafonte.
Chita Rivera and Ellen Weinstein.
Carlos Rodriguez, CEO of ADP, NDI Gala Corporate Honoree; Ellen Weinstein, and Brian Stokes Mitchell.

Photographs by Fadi Kheir & Julie Skarratt (NY Phil); Matt Oner (National Dance Institute); Barry Williams/AnnieWatt.com (National Tartan Day).

Recent Posts