Pathway to Creativity

Featured image
Fall foliage takes shape. Photo: JH.

Wednesday, November 3, 2021. Colder and rainy with temps in the low 50s yesterday in New York, dropping into the low 40s at night. Time for the winter jackets to come out of the closet.

Jane Lahr with a copy of The Radiant Tarot: Pathway to Creativity. Click to order.

I had lunch yesterday with Jane Lahr, a literary agent, an old friend who is promoting a new book, The Radiant Tarot: Pathway to Creativity by Alexandra Eldridge and Tony Barnstone who will be feted at a book party at Rizzoli tonight. The book, which is beautifully bound and boxed, is “a richly painted at times fantastical, fine art images of plants, animals, and people co-habit a dream like world guiding tarot readers down a radiant path of awakening creativity and personal growth.”

Now if you don’t know anything about the tarot (and I while being vaguely aware of it, am basically with you on it), just hearing about it from Jane yesterday, and seeing the book and a deck of 78 beautiful cards, I was fascinated. There is more to learn, and after tonight debut at Rizzoli, I hope I can tell you more.

In the meantime: The Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation (ADDF) hosted its 12th Annual Fall Symposium and Luncheon virtually last Thursday, October 28th. The event raised $1.2M for drug development research to prevent, treat, and cure Alzheimer’s disease. The event featured ADDF Co-Founders and Co-Chairmen Leonard Lauder and Ronald Lauder.

Hosted by journalist, and ADDF board member Paula Zahn, the celebration honored Howard Kaneff, Chairman Emeritus, and Mitchell Kaneff, Chairman and CEO of Arkay Packaging, with the Charles Evans Award for Leadership. Also awarded with the Melvin R. Goodes Prize was Miia Kivipelto, MD, PhD, Professor in Clinical Geriatrics at Karolinska Institutet, Center for Alzheimer Research and senior geriatrician and Director for Research & Development of Theme Aging at Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden.

Paula Zahn and Leonard Lauder.
Ronald S. Lauder.

Arkay is a three-generation family-run business that has provided packaging for the cosmetics, pharmaceutical, and health and beauty industries, including Estee Lauder Companies, for more than nine decades. The Kaneffs are both esteemed supporters of the ADDF, and Mitchell currently serves on the ADDF’s Board of Overseers.

Leonard Lauder praised them and their decades of support. “I’ve known Howard and Mitchell for several decades, both as dear friends and respected business partners. When Howard’s late wife and Mitchell’s mother, Cherry, started experiencing Alzheimer’s symptoms, there was no definitive way to receive a diagnosis. Thanks to the ADDF and support of steadfast supporters, like the Kaneffs, that is no longer the case — we now have the diagnostic tools to provide patients and families with the answers they deserve.”

Josh Kaneff, Mitchell Kaneff, Viviane Kaneff, Howard Kaneff, and Max Kaneff.
Alice Shure, Mitchell Kaneff, and Bonnie Pfeifer Evans.

“I’m incredibly honored and humbled,” said Mitchell Kaneff, “as I know my father is — to accept the 2021 Charles Evans Award. As an ADDF board member and someone whose lost a loved one to Alzheimer’s, I am grateful to be part of an organization that is playing a key role in driving progress in new diagnostic tools and therapies.”

“When I heard that we were going to receive the Charles Evans Award, I was thrilled,” added Howard. “I first became acquainted with the ADDF through my dear friend, Leonard Lauder, over twenty years ago and today, my son is on the board and playing a key role in raising financial support to further critical research.”

Alan Patricof, Bonnie Evans, William Lauder, and Bonnie Lautenberg.
Howard Kaneff, Mitchell Kaneff, and Leonard A. Lauder.

Dr. Miia Kivipelto Awarded the 2021 Melvin R. Goodes Prize for Innovative Research. This is an annual award given to leading researchers making important strides towards the development of effective treatments and a cure for Alzheimer’s. The Goodes Prize was established in 2015 by Mr. Goodes, an honorary member of ADDF’s Board of Governors, and Nancy Goodes, a member of the ADDF’s Board of Governors. The Prize includes a $150,000 award and will support Dr. Kivipelto’s continued research on prevention, early diagnosis and treatment of cognitive impairment, dementia, and Alzheimer’s disease.

Introducing the award, Nancy Goodes said, “When we first launched the Prize, our goal was to honor Mel and his legacy in the drug development field, while also supporting cutting-edge science championed by the ADDF. This award does just that. We are delighted to present this year’s Prize to Dr. Kivipelto, whose monumental work with the FINGER trial has transformed how we view lifestyle interventions for Alzheimer’s prevention.”

Dr. Miia Kivipelto.

Dr. Kivipelto expressed her gratitude: “On behalf of my team and me, I am incredibly honored to receive such prestigious recognition, which also provides validation for the multidomain prevention model that targets both several risk factors and mechanisms. This award is especially significant as Mel Goodes, a prominent leader in the pharmaceuticals industry, and his work positively impacted numerous patients. Receiving an award in Mel and Nancy’s name is an inspiration as we continue with our research into the prevention of Alzheimer’s.”

Moderated by the ADDF’s Founding Executive Director and Chief Science Officer, Dr. Howard Fillit, Dr. Kivipelto joined another remarkable scientist at the annual symposium — Miranda Orr, PhD, Assistant Professor of Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine at the Wake Forest School of Medicine — for a panel titled The State of Alzheimer’s Prevention: What Can You Do Today?

Dr. Howard Fillit, Jane McIntosh, Leonard A. Lauder, and Mark Roithmayr.

The Fall Symposium and Luncheon would not have been possible without the generous support of many contributors and donors: including: Melanie Goodes Caceres, The Estée Lauder Companies Inc., Nancy and Melvin R. Goodes, Kiera and Christopher Johnson, Howard Kaneff, Mitchell Kaneff, Judy and Leonard A. Lauder, Gary and Laura Lauder, William P. Lauder and Lori Kanter Tritsch, Jo Carole and Ronald S. Lauder, Susan and Tom Lowder, Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation, Sharon T. Sager and J. Loring Swasey, Liz and Randal Sandler, and David R. Weinreb.

Alec Ginsberg, Erica Hausman, Sharon Sager, Callie Leone, and Todd Leeson.
Kerry Coke, Laurie Dowley, Phebe Farrow Port, and Thea Breen.
Dr. Jana Klauer and Gerold Klauer.

ADDF was founded in 1998 by the Lauder brothers, Leonard and Ronald Lauder. The Foundation is dedicated to rapidly accelerating the discovery of drugs to prevent, treat and cure Alzheimer’s disease. It is the only public charity solely focused on funding the development of drugs for Alzheimer’s, employing a venture philanthropy model to support research in academia and the biotech industry.

Through the generosity of its donors, The ADDF has granted more than $168 million to fund more than 650 programs for Alzheimer’s and related dementias in academic centers and biotechnology companies in 19 countries. To learn more, please visit


Recent Posts