The National Institute of Social Sciences’ 109th Annual Gold Medal Gala

Featured image
The dinner scene at the National Institute of Social Sciences' 109th Annual Gold Medal Gala.

“Supporting scholars and the increase of knowledge in the world is buried deep in our organizational DNA,” declared NISS President Fred Larsen at the 109th Annual Gold Medal Gala on Tuesday, December 5th, when the storied not-for-profit added Jonathan Fanton, Dr. Anthony Fauci, and Jim and Marilyn Simons to the long list of Gold Medal Honorees recognized for their outstanding contributions to society.

The evening began with a rousing rendition of “God Bless America” followed by Tosca’s “Vissi d’ arte” by Grammy award-winning soprano Angel Blue for the enthralled guests. President Larsen moderated a thought-provoking panel discussion with Dr. Fauci, Dr. Fanton, and David Spergel, President of the Simons Foundation, in front of a captivated audience at the Metropolitan Club. The evening also recognized 2023’s NISS Dissertation Grant winners.

Angel Blue Mielke.

Guests included Elbrun and Peter Kimmelman, Angel Blue and Adam Mielke, Daisy Williams, Claudia Mailer, Michael Dowling, Isabelle Bouvier, Jennifer Raab, Barbara Tober, Emily Selleck, Karen Burke Goulandris, Suzanne and Robert Farrell, Karen Wagner and David Caplan, Dana Conroy and Jim Rosenfield, Anthea Butler, Stacy Wolf, Edward Liebow, Dianne and Mark Melodia, Gracey Stoddard, James Curtis and Jason Colin, Catherine Shraga, Win and Mary Rutherfurd. Gala chairs for the evening were Michelle and Fred Larsen, Angela and Rod Hickey, and Jenny and Pierre du Pont.

“The NISS Gold Medal has been described as the Nobel Prize for the social sciences,” explained President Larsen. Previous honorees, including four U.S. presidents and 16 Nobel Prize winners are individuals who have made outstanding achievements in the social sciences, law, government, education, philanthropy, the arts, medicine, science, and industry. They include Sandra Day O’Connor, J. Pierpont Morgan, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Madeleine Albright, Kofi A. Annan, Kwame Anthony Appiah, Daniel Kahneman, Madame Chiang Kai-Shek, Fulton Sheen, Paul Krugman, Darren Walker, Helen Keller, and Marie Curie, to name a few.

Fred Larsen.

Under the leadership of President Larsen, the institute continues to increase the scope of its support of social science scholars and bring awareness of the advances in the social sciences into public attention. The NISS had its origins as ASSA, chartered as a not-for-profit by Congress, in 1865. The National Institute of Social Sciences is an honorary society of Americans dedicated by service and philanthropy to the public good and joined together to recognize and celebrate those who have achieved at the highest level. In addition to presenting its Gold Medals each year, the National Institute awards grants to PhD candidates in the social sciences and holds public symposia on critical societal issues.

For more information visit:

Jonathan Fanton, James Simons, Marilyn Simons, Dr. Anthony Fauci, and Fred Larsen.
Cynthia and Jonathan Fanton.
Michael Dowling and Dr. Anthony Fauci.
Richard Miller, Beatrice Broadwater, Jennifer Raab, and Doug Broadwater.
Frederick Harris and Dr. Anthea Butler.
Robert Farrell, Mary Hastings Moore, Suzanne Farrell, and Christine Grady.
Elbrun Kimmelman, Madelaine Piel, and Ed Liebow.
Michael Dowling and Michelle Larsen.
Pierre du Pont, Marilyn Simons, Caroline Ritter, Jenny du Pont, and David Spergel.
Dr. Anthony Fauci, Said Ibrahim, and Lee Erickson.
Karen Wagner, Robert Cohen, Mary Cohen, Stacy Wolf, and Roderick Hickey IV.
Dr. Sandra Hayes and Dr. Christine Grady.
Frederick Harris and Dianne Melodia.
Evgeniya Fagan, Dr. Darrick Antell, Caroline Ritter, and Oscar Sloterbeck.
Kim Davis and James Simons.
L. to r.: Elbrun and Peter Kimmelman; Gala Chairs Angela Cason, Michelle Larsen, and Jenny Young Du Pont.
Dana Conroy, Jim Rosenfield, Jenny du Pont, and Win Rutherford.
Cynthia Fanton and Elbrun Kimmelman.
Daisy Williams, Isabelle Bouvier, Emily Selleck, and Claudia Mailer.
Alfred Renna, Michelle Larsen, and Richard Ferrari.
L. to r.: Paul Martins and Rona Martins; Mark Medina and Grace Larsen.
Michael Mutti, Tim Porter, Bertha Coombs, and Michael Dowling.
Angela Cason, Barbara Tober, and Brian Loughman.
Angel Blue Mielke, Julia Fochler, and Adam Mielke.
Virginia Dean, Mark Grayson, Sarah Houghton, Cindy McCollum, and Helen Miller.
Tom Ackerson, Gracey Stoddard, and Win Rutherfurd.
Nancy Newcomb, Mary Rutherfurd, and Nancy Kernan.
Karen and Michael Keogh.
L. to r.: Michelle Larsen, Angela Cason, and Cathy Shraga; Eleni and Yuval Greenblatt.
John Glass, Martha Glass, and John Spellman.
Fran Engoron, Virginia Dean, James Kerr, Helen Miller, and Karen Wagner.
Jason Colin, Dr. Anthea Butler, Michelle Larsen, James Curtis, Sarah Houghton, and Mark Grayson.
Henry Larsen, Brian Evans, Amy Sullivan, and Christopher Farrell.
Richard Miller and Dr. Anthony Fauci.
Dr. Anthony Fauci and Richard Ferrari.
Fred Larsen.
Jonathan Fanton and Fred Larsen.
Dr. Anthony Fauci and Fred Larsen.
David Spergel, Dr. Anthony Fauci, Jonathan Fanton, and Fred Larsen.
David Spergel, Dr. Anthony Fauci, Jonathan Fanton, and Fred Larsen.
David Spergel, Dr. Anthony Fauci, Jonathan Fanton, and Fred Larsen.
Dr. Anthony Fauci, Jonathan Fanton, and Fred Larsen.

Photographs by Stephen Smith & David DuPuy (

Recent Posts