The New York Public Library’s annual Library Lions Gala 

Featured image
More than 450 attendees gathered in The Rose Main Reading Room for The New York Public Library's annual Library Lions Gala.

This past Monday evening, November 7th, The New York Public Library hosted its annual Library Lions Gala at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building to raise critical funds to support the Library’s mission to inspire lifelong learning, advance knowledge, and strengthen communities.

The Library Lions Gala raises critical funds to support its 92 neighborhood locations, as well as educational programming, and the vast research collections used by scholars, writers, artists and students every day. Support of this event ensures that the Library’s collections, programs, and services remain freely available.

This year’s honorees were artist Laurie Anderson, scholar Mary Beard, journalist Charles M. Blow, playwright Lynn Nottage, and economist Amartya Sen.

More than 450 attendees followed a piece-piece orchestra upstairs to gather in The Rose Main Reading Room for dinner and the program. The Library’s Board of Trustees Chairman, Evan Chesler welcomed the guests and then introduced Tony Marx, President of The New York Public Library.

Laurie Anderson, Lynn Nottage, Charles Blow, Amartya Sen, Mary Beard, and Tony Marx.

Senator Charles Schumer recounted some of his own experiences using libraries as a child growing up in Brooklyn. He then introduced New York City Mayor Eric Adams who presented to Tony Marx a proclamation naming Monday (November 7, 2022) The New York Public Library Day in the City of New York.

Senator Chuck Schumer.
Eric Adams.

This was followed by a short film highlighting each of this year’s Library Lions. They then were each bestowed their medals to the applause from the guests attending. The evening ended with the Young Lions afterparty in Astor Hall where dessert and cocktails were served alongside dancing to DJ Color Love.

Laurie Anderson, Mary Beard, Charles Blow, and Lynn Nottage.

This year’s Hosts included Mahnaz Ispahani Bartos and Adam BartosHoward and Eleanor Morgan and Mr. James S. Tisch and The Honorable Merryl H. Tisch. The evening’s Co-Chairs included Abby and Howard Milstein, Katharine Rayner, Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Schwarzman, and Nanar and Tony Yoseloff.

Guests included Mr. James S. Tisch and Mr. and Mrs. Stephen A. Schwarzman, Nanar and Tony Yoseloff (Co Chairs), Katharine J. Rayner, Abby and Howard Milstein, Renata Adler, Steven Aronson, Roy Blount, Joan Hardy Clark, Gordon Davis, George Farias, Barbara Fleischman, Paul Goldberger, Thelma Golden, Annette Gordon-Reed, Susan Gutfreund, Alexander Hankin, Kim Heirston, Hubert Joly, Nicholas Lemann, David Leverin Lewis, Jennifer Morrison, Orhan Pamuk, Deborah Roberts,Allison Rockefeller, Lauren Santo Domingo, Gay Talese, and Stefano Tonchi.

L. to r.: Christine and Stephen Schwarzman; Eleanor and Howard Morgan.
Danielle Hankin, Lizzie Asher, and Mercedes de Guardiola.
L. to r.: Crystal McCrary and Deborah Roberts; Hubert and Hortense Joly.
Terry Neal, Merryl Tisch, Iris Schumer, Senator Chuck Schumer, and friends.
L. to r.: Elise Taylor; Alexander Hankin, Eric Kuhn, and Brooks Marks.
Joan Griswold, Roy Blount, and Calvin Trillin.
L. to r.: Jennifer Morrison; Lauren Santo Domingo.
Merryl Tisch.
L. to r.: Thelma Golden and Charles Blow; Senator Chuck Schumer and Iris Schumer.
Eleanor Morgan, Howard Morgan, Tony Marx, Abby Milstein, and Paul Goldberger.
L. to r.: Stefano Tonchi and Kim Heirston; Steven Aronson and Jacqueline Williams.
Aaron Nottage, Malik Nottage, Cathy Nottage, Lynn Nottage, Melkamu Gerber, Ruby Gerber, and Tony Gerber.
L. to r.: Barbara Fleischman; Jacqueline Williams and George Farias.
Nandana Sen, Indrani Sen, Amartya Sen, and John Makinson.

Recent Posts