Winning projects

Featured image
The scene at the Metropolitan Club to celebrate the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art's (ICAA) 2022 McKim, Mead & White Awards.

On Wednesday, November 30th 2022, the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) celebrated the winners of the 2022 McKim, Mead & White Awards at the Metropolitan Club in New York City. The awards recognize achievement in individual projects in architecture, interiors, landscape, urbanism, and building craftsmanship & artisanship throughout New York, New Jersey, and Fairfield County, Connecticut.

McKim, Mead & White Awards Co-Chair Andrew Califano delivered welcoming remarks to the 350 guests in attendance at the sold-out event. ICAA President Peter Lyden introduced Mitchell Owens – the American Editor of World of Interiors – who served as emcee for the awards ceremony, and presented the 14 awards for winning projects in classical and traditional architecture and design to each recipient.

The award laureates are selected by a jury of experts in the fields of architecture and design. This year’s jury included Madison Cox, Madison Cox Associates; Mitchell Owens, World of Interiors; Ken Pursley, Pursley Dixon Architecture; Keita Turner, Keita Turner Design; and Richard Guy Wilson, University of Virginia.

Click here to view the winners of the 2022 McKim, Mead & White Awards.

McKim, Mead & White Awards Co-Chair Andrew Califano.
McKim, Mead & White Awards Emcee Mitchell Owens.

ICAA Board Members Gary Brewer, Melissa DelVecchio, Elizabeth Dillon, Barbara Eberlein, Mark Ferguson, John Flower, Elizabeth Graziolo, Kirk Henckels, John B. Murray, Mark Pledger, David W. Rau, and Bunny Williams as well ICAA friends and supporters Sarah A. Blank, John Berson, David Calligeros, Stephen T. Chrisman, Andrew Cogar, James Doyle, Anne Fairfax, Guillaume Feau, Valentin Goux, Perry Guillot, Edmund Hollander, Janice Parker, Peter Pennoyer, Ken Pursley, Janet Ross, Richard F. Sammons, Brian Sawyer, Gilbert P. Schafer, Greg Tankersley, Adrian Taylor, Keita Turner, Stefanie Scheer Young, and 2022 McKim, Mead & White Award Co-Chairs Kate Fowler and Benjamin Salling were all in attendance.

ICAA President Peter Lyden, McKim, Mead & White Awards Emcee Mitchell Owens, and Gil Schafer III.
Sarah Pursley, Ken Pursley, Jennifer Ghersi, and Liz Hall.
L. to r.: Miranda Agee and ICAA Board Member Elizabeth Graziolo; Meghan Barnes and Caroline Crooks.
Antonio Amiano, McKim, Mead & White Awards Jury Member Keita Turner, Uzal DeMontserrat, and Damian Samora.
Ian Kerke, Eric Kerke, and Peyton Gable.
Kathleen Colella, Caroline Colella, and Vincent Colella.
L. to r.: ICAA Board President Russell Windham and Matthew Greitzer; Miranda Agee, ICAA Board Member Elizabeth Graziolo, ICAA President Peter Lyden, and Kimberly Driessen.
Deborah Rau, ICAA Board Member David Rau, Mark Marynick, and Chris Ryan.
Mat N’Djilema and Leeann Latsch.
ICAA Board Member Gary Brewer, Timothy Deal, Cristi Pledger, and ICAA Board Member Mark Pledger.

Over two hundred members and guests of the Saint Andrew’s Society of the State of New York gathered on Friday, November 18th, at the Society’s 266th Anniversary Banquet. Andy Scott, internationally prominent sculptor, was presented with the Mark Twain Award. Also known as the “Sammy,” Twain’s nickname, the award honors leaders in their fields who have had a significant and positive impact on the Scots community around the world.

A native of Glasgow, Scotland, Mr. Scott works figuratively in steel and bronze and creates striking artworks based on human and animal forms. His output numbers more than eighty projects internationally.

Richard Porter, 104th President of the Saint Andrew’s Society, presents the Mark Twain “Sammy” Award to Andy Scott.

His most prominent creation is The Kelpies, a pair of 100-foot-high, 300-ton horse heads. These iconic landmarks have become internationally renowned cultural symbols for Scotland and have brought millions of visitors to their location in Falkirk, central Scotland.

Mr. Scott is a Member of the Royal Society of Sculptors and an Honorary Member of the ancient Guild of Hammermen in his native city of Glasgow.

Rob Munro leads the Haggis presentation.

The Mount Kisco Scottish Pipes and Drums summoned guests to dinner, which was followed by presentation of the Haggis, toasts, a live auction and musical performances.

Founded in 1756, Saint Andrew’s Society of the State of New York is the oldest charitable organization in New York State. The Society embraces its original mission of helping Scots in need through its Almoner Program. The Society also supports graduate students in the USA and in Scotland and provides support to children’s hospitals in both countries.

Co-Chair Margaret Kennedy, Andy Scott, Richard Porter, Jeanne Chenault Porter, and Hanneke Scott.
Helen ER Sayles CBE, Vincent Rovito, and Leila Rovito.
Kevin Cheng, MD, Co-Chair Doreen Wray Roth, MD, and Carolyn Razzano.
Co-Chair Lesley MacLennan Denninger and Robert W. Ker III.
Back row: Tom Newell, Tom Higgins, Fiona Higgins, Diane McClain, and Frank Cancellieri.
Front Row: Lisa Newell, Laura Orentlicher, Ricky McClain, Richard McClain, and Ann Cancellieri.
Mark Pearson, Daisy Field-Pearson, Co-Chair John Blankley, and Anne Teasdale.
Ann Pearson, George Steel, and Sara Steel.
Richard Porter, Emma Wade-Smith OBE, HM Consul General to New York, and Honoree Andy Scott.
David Lorduy, Nick Depner, Carmita Mantilla, Christina Hutchinson, and Andrew Werner.
David Close, Jennifer Fortet , Söla Paterson Marke, Annie Boyle, Kate Hawkins, and Graeme Hawkins.

On the evening of Tuesday, December 6th, Verdura CEO Ward Landrigan and President Nico Landrigan hosted an intimate evening celebration in honor of philanthropist, style icon, and preeminent hostess Deeda Blair and her new book Deeda Blair: Food, Flowers & Fantasy.

Held at the Verdura Salon overlooking Central Park, guests braved a rainy NYC night to enjoy holiday cocktails and conversation.  Some of the stylish attendees included Wendy Goodman, Jane Blair, Nina Brody, Martha Stewart, Susan Magrino, and Christopher Spitzmiller.

Ward Landrigan, Deeda Blair, and Nico Landrigan.

Published by Rizzoli, the beautifully photographed book shares Catherine “Deeda” Blair’s inspirations for entertaining with understated elegance and distinction, accompanied by menus, recipes, table settings, and charming stories about her extraordinarily colorful life. Central to the narrative are six fantasy meals, each accompanied by a menu, and floral arrangements that are inspired by the people and places that have shaped Blair’s own inimitable and envied taste and style.

Verdura, as if you already didn’t know, is an American fine jeweler headquartered at 745 Fifth Avenue in New York City. The company was founded in 1939 by Sicilian Duke Fulco di Verdura, and is internationally recognized for its timeless, elegant, and distinctly original designs.

Wendy Goodman, Pam Sommers, and Charles Miers.
Julia Boehning, James Haag, Jill Esterman, and Mary Lou Vetrano.
Jane Blair Oberle, Nico Landrigan, and Kim Landrigan.
L. to r.: Hoc Minh Ngo and Anne Goldrach; Susan Magrino and Wendy Goodman.
Margaret Chase and Pam Sommers.
Nico Landrigan, Martha Stewart, and Ward Landrigan.
Claire Potter, Chris Spitzmiller, and Martha Stewart.
Martha Stewart and Charles Miers.
Ilana Green, Judith Landrigan, Deeda Blair, and Suprya Malik.

Photographs by Jared Siskin/Patrick McMullan; John Sanderson/Annie Watt & Nuala Purcell (Saint Andrew’s Society); John Sanderson/Annie Watt (Deeda Blair)

Recent Posts